Belle's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Yummy! I used the mix of canned beans and can't wait to really do this one right. And by right I mean from scratch and some mods that I know would be outstanding to my taste! Spoiler alert below.... Can't be a 5 star cuz it's justa bean dish and the beauty of beans is their endless uses and mods, but def THANK the recipe here for a quick fixer AND reminder that bean dishes can be that simple! Because I had all these ingredients on hand, was in a pinch for "fancier" baked bean dish, and know my way around my kitchen, I prepped this dish is 5...6 minutes! Lol- *********yes, it's only a 3 star cuz I had to omit the majority of sugar! Just didn't see the purpose- love some of the other ides here in the ratings!!! Some of my mods- diced celery, carrots, jalapeños in with the mix, molasses vs some sugar, boost the BBQ sauce, more variation of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
These were very good but wayyyy too sweet for us. I added a couple can of plain beans to cut the sugar and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was good, but also very sweet, so I would omit the white sugar. I prepared a batch and a half of the recipe, but I did drain one of the cans of beans. The other 2 added enough liquid, besides the ketchup, bbq sauce, and Worcestershire sauce. I also substituted yellow prepared mustard for the mustard powder, and added 5 weiners, sliced (about a 1/2 a pound), after I lightly browned the sausage just a bit, then finished browning the sausage. I baked the bean mixture for exactly 50 minutes (uncovered). I will definitely make this dish again. After all, I have plenty of already seasoned ground pork sausage in the freezer to use up. This is a great side dish to serve at any potluck or famliy function. Thank you Maybelle Miller for posting this recipe. It's definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for...a simple and delicious canned baked beans doctored up a bit. Used bacon instead of sausage as that is a taste preference and I omitted the white sugar as the other reviewers recommended. Serving was perfect for the 6 guests I had over for BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was very easy to make (put in slowcooker for 5 hrs. on high), and it was quite good. I prefer sweet beans, that's why I chose this recipie. My dh's grandfather said over and over they were the best beans he's ever had. That's a pretty good compliment to the recipie. I have had better, so that's why it's a 4 for me. I'd make them again. I used a pound of turkey bacon instead of sausage...that was the only hard part, cooking all that bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I have been using this recipe for years and everyone loves it. I use lite sausage to cut down on the fat and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These were very good. I agree with most of the other reviewers though...I think the white sugar would have just made it way too sweet (which is the only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars). I did add the 1/2 cup of brown sugar though, and I think it has just the right amount of sweetness. I also added some fresh minced garlic and used spicy Italian sausage. I liked the combo of sweet with the heat. Thanks for the recipe...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I didn't add the white sugar because of other reviewers and I loved this recipe. The sausage is a must. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this recipe as directed (omitting the white sugar), but there was something missing. So I used stone ground mustard and added some Texas Pete hot sauce to them for a bite and they came out perfect. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgreene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
So good. I brought this to a friend's barbecue tonight and it was a huge hit. I followed the recipe exactly except for the granulated sugar, which I left out. And I also increased the bake time to about an hour and a half. I'll make this many times before the summer's over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States