Belle's Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was good, but also very sweet, so I would omit the white sugar. I prepared a batch and a half of the recipe, but I did drain one of the cans of beans. The other 2 added enough liquid, besides the ketchup, bbq sauce, and Worcestershire sauce. I also substituted yellow prepared mustard for the mustard powder, and added 5 weiners, sliced (about a 1/2 a pound), after I lightly browned the sausage just a bit, then finished browning the sausage. I baked the bean mixture for exactly 50 minutes (uncovered). I will definitely make this dish again. After all, I have plenty of already seasoned ground pork sausage in the freezer to use up. This is a great side dish to serve at any potluck or famliy function. Thank you Maybelle Miller for posting this recipe. It's definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Exactly what I was looking for...a simple and delicious canned baked beans doctored up a bit. Used bacon instead of sausage as that is a taste preference and I omitted the white sugar as the other reviewers recommended. Serving was perfect for the 6 guests I had over for BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was very easy to make (put in slowcooker for 5 hrs. on high), and it was quite good. I prefer sweet beans, that's why I chose this recipie. My dh's grandfather said over and over they were the best beans he's ever had. That's a pretty good compliment to the recipie. I have had better, so that's why it's a 4 for me. I'd make them again. I used a pound of turkey bacon instead of sausage...that was the only hard part, cooking all that bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I have been using this recipe for years and everyone loves it. I use lite sausage to cut down on the fat and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
These were very good. I agree with most of the other reviewers though...I think the white sugar would have just made it way too sweet (which is the only reason I gave this recipe 4 stars). I did add the 1/2 cup of brown sugar though, and I think it has just the right amount of sweetness. I also added some fresh minced garlic and used spicy Italian sausage. I liked the combo of sweet with the heat. Thanks for the recipe...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I didn't add the white sugar because of other reviewers and I loved this recipe. The sausage is a must. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSBHAVENOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harcourt, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this recipe as directed (omitting the white sugar), but there was something missing. So I used stone ground mustard and added some Texas Pete hot sauce to them for a bite and they came out perfect. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgreene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
So good. I brought this to a friend's barbecue tonight and it was a huge hit. I followed the recipe exactly except for the granulated sugar, which I left out. And I also increased the bake time to about an hour and a half. I'll make this many times before the summer's over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is a very easy dish to make. I omited the white sugar all together and used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it still turned out very sweet. I increased the mustard to 1 tsp. I would of liked this recipe better if it was a little less sweet. The sweetness could be due to the brand of barbeque sauce I used. I baked this 70 minutes to make it thicker. I would make this again but adjust the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Very good flavor. I followed some earlier reviewers advice, did not use any white sugar and substituted bacon for sausage. I also used Bush's maple cured bacon flavored beans. I have made them twice in a two week period and both times they received rave reviews. I only used half the recommended meat as I thought the full amount would make the beans too salty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States