Bellepepper's Orzo and Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I submitted this recipe and wanted to pass along some info and tips. You can cook the orzo a few days in advance. Just drizzle the cooked orzo with just enough vegetable oil to very lightly coat it, to keep it from sticking, cover and refrigerate. Or make it even farther ahead and freeze until needed. Likewise with the wild rice, cover and refrigerate or freeze – no tossing in oil is needed for the rice. The nuts can be toasted several days in advance; cool and store in an airtight container. Dried cranberries or raisins can easily be substituted for the currants. And leftovers are quite good, but the nuts will have lost some of their crunch. If you make this I hope you enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I have been making this quite often since Bellepepper brought it to the Buckeye Bash a few years ago. It is one of my favorite "go-to" salads for a BBQ with company (it also travels well)! I have never changed anything except to use dried cranberries instead of currants. It is very easy to assemble if you heed Bellepepper's suggestion to cook the orzo and wild rice ahead of time (toss the cooked orzo lightly in veg. or olive oil), freeze, and toast the nuts a few days before. I assemble the day before entertaining but save the nuts and parsley to add just before serving. Serve this and I promise someone will ask you for the recipe! Thanks, BP, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Review originally posted July 2011 when the recipe was still a personal recipe: This salad is going on our family favourites list! I made the rice and orzo ahead of time then tossed everything but the nuts and parsley together a few hours before serving. Everyone then added the nuts and parsley to their individual servings because of personal tastes. I thought there would be lots left over but the salad was soooo good that there was barely enough for a serving for lunch for one. It is a great recipe for my vegetarian daughter. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe Bellepepper! Update June 9 2014- I've made this numerous times and always get requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Bellepepper, this recipe is worthy of 5 stars. I am a major tweaker, but I made it exact, even the sugar amount was bang on! The currants add a nice subtle, sweet taste. Since currants are so tiny, I would follow the advice from linda2d-if subbing raisins or craisins, chop them first. The texture was fantastic, I would sprinkle the nuts on at the end if making in advance. Wild rice and orzo were 2 new ingredients added to my pantry, this is a very economical, fresh idea for a salad for future potlucks and family gatherings. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Fantabulous stuff! I love wild rice and orzo, and the dressing is da bomb! It's one of those dishes I just want to eat and eat and eat. I did have to make some subs, dried cranberries instead of currants (currants are yummy though), walnuts instead of pecans (it was still good), and red wine vinegar instead of white. That being said, the taste was just a little different using the red instead of white vinegar and it did color the rice and orzo darker. I'll have to buy white wine vinegar now. I did add a lot more wild rice than calls for, just my preference. The dressing is what makes this salad in my opinion. You can add in or take out from the salad part too, but the dressing is just ummmmmmmm. Thanks Belle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Love it. Suggest using 1 c wild rice. I actually used a grain blend called Soo Foo, which is a little peppery so I skipped the pepper. Used champagne vinegar because I had no white balsalmic. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Good and different. I didn't use the wild rice the first time. It was too expensive for an experiment. It was good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was a great salad. I hate cooking orzo, so maybe I will try something else next time. I didn't have any white pepper or currants, so used dried cranberries and just went without the white pepper. It was not missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I get RAVE reviews every time I make this and never have leftovers as people take home as much as they can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Very interesting salad. We loved The blend if flavors and textures. However, it was much too sweet for our tastes. I'll definitely make again, but halve the sugar. I brought it to a party and got many compliments though. I just thought the sweet dressing along with the dried cranberries (couldn't find currants) was a little much. If you like your dressing on the sweet side, it may be a 5 star for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States