Bella's Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I wanted to make boxed mac n cheese for an easy lunch for the kids and to my dismay discovered I was all out! So I quickly searched allrecipes for an quick easy recipe. I had all these ingredients on hand, which was great. Thanks for the recipe! I'd rate it a 3 as it but with a couple of simple alterations I'd easily give it a 4 or 4.5! I added milk during 2nd microwaving, made it much creamer instead of so "gloppy." Also, I added salt, pepper, & paprika to the cheese mixture, which added a nice flavor. The kids loved it and I thought it was good too. I only made half a recipe to be used up right away, since I don't think it would've reheated well. Although, I don't think there are many mac n cheese recipes that reheat well anyway! I'll be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I made this into a single serving, with healthier ingredients, and it came out great! I used 1/2 cup of whole wheat elbow mac, 1 oz of sliced reduced fat american cheese, 1 oz of reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese, 2 tsp i can't believe it's not butter. The butter/cheese mixture hardened pretty quickly after microwaving so I kept the stove on low after draining the macaroni and mixed it all together nicely in the hot pan. I also added a bit of fat free half and half which I didn't measure. Didn't let stand 10 minutes. Overall, a good replacement for the boxed stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This tastes like buffet style homemade mac and cheese. We have been looking for a simple, good recipe and we've tried a few that were not very good. THIS IS WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
4 stars because my kids (ages 2 & almost 5) loved it and gobbled it up! And it was easy. I used the general proportions of the recipe but to make much less. Melted everything in a big pyrex measuring cup and just stirred whole grain 3-color macaroni right into the same dish. Husband and I ate the leftovers but just because it was there. I liked it but it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was Gross although my baby sister loved it. It was to googy. Maybe I'll just make this dish for my babysister. Not for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Sorry just didnt see the point in melting the butter and cheese together. I would suggest melting the cheese in milk instead and buttering the noodles after they are cooked, before you put the cheese/milk mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This recipe would be very good, but only if you could eat it within the first 5 minutes after it is cooked. After that it hardens very quickly I found. My family did not like it at all. It all went wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
It definitely requires the right kind of microwave - I ended up with two giant clumps of hardened, congealed cheese. And after I fixed it up with a package of shredded cheddar which melted quite nicely and made it edible, it did become oily for left overs just like the other reviews had noted. This recipe was a disaster for me. Definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Ummmm.....it was ok, like the post before my children liked it. My hubby and I thought a box of Kraft would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Okay. My husband and I thought it was lumpy and bland, but our 2 yr old absolutely loved it! It was unappetizing after about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States