Bell Peppers and Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I stumbled upon this recipe when I was trying to find a simple *weeknight meal* way to use up some bell peppers I had on the verge of going bad. I really enjoyed it! Mr. LTH hasn't eaten yet, so I've yet to get his input, but I'd make/eat this again. I didn't measure any of the produce and I used green, red, yellow, and orange peppers. Per personal preference, I did not use olives. The only *major* change I made was to substitute chicken broth for water. I read the recipe 4 times to make sure I was reading it right, but I just couldn't see wasting any flavor by using water, so I made an executive decision to sub chicken broth. I ate some w/both crumbled feta & goat and some w/fresh shredded fontinella and can't decide which way I liked better: the feta/goat made almost a cream coating that was nice, but I think I preferred the flavor of the fontinella. Any cheese would work w/this, per your personal preference. TY for a fantastic way to use up the bell peppers I can't seem to resist buying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
It was easy to make and looked pretty. However, it lacked a little in flavour. Maybe adding some lemon juices and/or zest and some more herbs, like basil, for instance, would pick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I swear, you can cook up some pasta and add just about anything to it and it's going to be awesome good, just as this was. The red and green bell peppers contribute great flavor as well as making it especially colorful and pretty. Because of the black olives and oregano it almost tastes reminiscent of a pizza. I didn't add the feta - I do like it, but it just didn't appeal to me here. I served this with Cajun Shrimp, but as far as I'm concerned this would be a fitting side dish for whatever meat you put on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I would give this a 3.5 if I could. It was really easy, relatively healthy, and good, but just a little plain/bland. I'm not complaining, everything got eaten, but it wasn't a wow dish. I added an extra cup of bell peppers doubled the olives, and added dried basil and Italian seasoning in addition to the oregano. I would make this again for a quick weeknight meal since I usually have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Even my boyfriend (a major carnivore) loves this! It has worked it's way into our regular menu. I think it'd also be good with grilled chicken. I tried another noodle but I think penne is best. Also, I don't use any water with the peppers so they are crisper and I don't like feta so I use an Italian cheese blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Wonderful flavor combination. The timing on everything was just right,the vegetables were cooked perfectly. I added zucchini to mine and topped with parmesan cheese since I didn't have any feta cheese onhand. My family ate it all, even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I really don't know what to rate this recipe. I followed it except for using dry white wine rather than water. I also topped individual servings with the feta cheese rather than adding it to the entire dish. It was very easy to make and didn't taste bad, was OK, good but nothing spectacular. I would probably make it again as it does work well for a summer veggie meal served with additional veggies on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
My boyfriend and I both thought this was a great recipe. Perfect for cleaning out the fridge last night. We did make a few changes: We didn't use olives, or red peppers as we didn't have any. Instead I chopped up a tomato and put it in at the same time as the water. We also dissolved a little bit of chicken bouillon in the water to give it some more flavor. We used a mediterranean flavored feta, and it was so good. Also added some dried basil with the other spices. Then we threw in some grilled chicken. Very versatile recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Great low-cal recipe! I used green olives (instead of the black it shows in the picture) and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
yumm....used fresh oregano and added wine instead of water...i think it would be good cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States