Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I must say I am not a very big waffle lover.. and I do think this waffle has a bit of an after taste maybe..I dont know what it is I taste.. BUTT I really loved the recipe... I have a normal size waffle maker.. I think It made 15 or 16.. and we ate just a few and the rest I put in the freezer so my daughter can bring them to school in her lunchbox or just whenever I dont have anything for lunch/breakfast at home I can take them out..put them in the toaster and they are as fresh as the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rg Top

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I thought these were good but not as amazing as everyone said. I bought an inexpensive Belgian waffle iron to see if we liked Belgian waffles well enough to make them somewhat often (in which case I'd ask for a better iron for Christmas or bday), so the iron could be the problem. My husband and I found the waffles to not be as crisp as we wanted and also to be a little bit tough. I wonder if I overmixed the dough while incorporating the flour and milk; I wasn't sure how thoroughly I should mix in between flour or milk additions. I was disappointed in the outcome, since it took me about 45 min to make the batter (night before, and it did rise in the fridge very nicely). The batter was very thick and stretchy, much more like dough than traditional batter. It made 8 big waffles in my Belgian waffle maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
These are the best waffles I've tried! I followed the advice of some users and prepared the batter the night before and kept it in the fridge. The next morning I baked them. The smell was great. The only problem is that you need to serve waffles immediately, cause they get not crispy very quickly after baking. Though a toaster can save your waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Very good Belgian waffles! In the past I used to make my own batter but in recent years I have been using a box mix. Today we didn't have a box mix so I found this recipe. It was so good that I'll be making my own again from now on. I didn't read the recipe all the way through and didn't keep the egg white so it cost me double the eggs but that was my fault. Also, I didn't beat the whites much but I let it sit for over an hours, the batter doubled in size and was thick and wonderful. My family loved the waffles, they are light and fluffy. My batter made 9 waffles and I am freezing the extra 4 for quick weekday breakfast. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyBreak2Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
still a batter, not a dough, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Kids asked for more, which is rare for a new recipe. We only let the batter rest for 15 minutes. We couldn't wait an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
A lot of work and prep., and the waffles turned out just ok-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This was my first attempt at Belgian Waffles and the recipe looked pretty simple in case I wasn't very awake in the morning. :) I made them as directed and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThePittyRanch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I may have just been using a waffle iron that wasn't right for this, but it just tasted more bready and didn't really have anything else special to it. I prefer my waffles to have a bit of a crunch to the outside. I may try this one again, but I'm not sure if it's going to be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States