Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Love these! They are a Christmas morning tradition at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
It wasn't as nearly as delicious as some of the reviewers state. Definitely wasn't worth the labour. I gave it a 3 because the flavour was okay, but I would go with a mix instead of going through all that work again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Great waffles! My cousin was coming for a visit, and had told me he was bringing his Belgian waffle iron (one of those "flip" wafflers like you see at hotels). He said something about buying a mix for the waffles, and I said no way - I'll make scratch. Found this recipe, made it without any changes "except" (isn't there always a "but") I made it the night before and let it sit in the fridge - I hate dorking around with recipes on Sunday mornings. We all loved it -my husband grades new recipes, and says this is a definite A (and he can be a tough grader). It does make a lot - I made 9 1/2 waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was my first attempt at yeast raised waffles and they were great. I didn't whip the whites separately and they were still light and fluffy. I always double or triple recipes, but just a single of this one was more than enough. Being used to baking powder raised waffles, at first I didn't put enough batter and ended up with sort of half waffles because these do almost all of their rising beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Too yeasty for me. Didn't like at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These are the best ever and I love most of the comments. I made these as directed from the recipe but saved half of it in the refridge as someone suggested keeping it overnight and they where even better. The yeast flavor developed and mellowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Really good. I did find it more work than regular waffles but defintely something to make for special occasions or when one has the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
These waffles didn't crisp the way I wanted them to and they had a very bland flavor. They needed more salt and the yeast flavor was almost too much. It was disappointing, considering how long it took to do the batter. It also makes a TON of batter. I have a huge bowl of it and so it's an extra big letdown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Made a brunch for a friend of mine since it was raining (we usually have a walk) and I could not have been more pleased! Followed as is and the waffles came out light and fluffy. Made 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very good Leige Belgian Waffle. It is pretty close to what you get on the streets of Brussels. It is without the sweetness and the texture is a little different. The addition of Pearl sugar will fix the sweetness by giving you the caramelization of sugar that is traditionally on the outside of the waffle. I crushed up sugar cubes, since I did not have pearl sugar, and that worked fair. Very good recipe none the less, and I am very picky when it comes to Leige Belgian Waffles. I have been to Belgian so far 10 times and it is one of the three top greatest things coming from there, right after their beer and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States