Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Excellent recipe, just what I was looking for. Followed the recipe exactly as written and they came out perfect. Next time I will make the night before and leave the batter in the fridge so they are ready to go for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Rosen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I was very disappointed. These are heavy bread like waffles. I think beating egg whites is a wasted step on any waffle recipe. Eggs puff up when cooked. I am glad so many others liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this on Christmas morning. While it was a bit involved the waffles were absolutely wonderful!! My kids and I enjoyed these for breakfast for two days after! Don't be turned off by the amount of time these take to make, they turned out perfect!! We will definitely be making these again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Used this recipe for Christmas morning with our new waffle maker, very delicious flavor, light and fluffy, best waffle I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margirene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
So the husband decided we needed a Belgian waffle maker, taking advantage of the pre-holiday sales he got one. I did some research and this recipe looked pretty user friendly. I make a roll recipe that uses egg whites folded in that is a big hit so I figured this was a good pick. Following recipe and waffle iron directions to the letter, I was ready to give this recipe a 1 star. The guys had returned from their black Friday holiday shopping and were starving. The waffles were coming out horribly. I grabbed my trusty cookbook and whipped up a plain waffle mix. After 2 failed attempts with that, I decided to get out my 25 yr+ old waffle iron and see what would happen with it. Got the guys fed using my trusty old iron and moved on to this recipe's remaining batter. Oh yum! Turned out just like I thought it should. Crispy and golden brown on the outside, light and tasty on the inside. I'll be keeping this recipe and returning the "new" iron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
It's pretty good. As some other wrote, it doesn't seem quite worth the amount of time required, but I can see doing this again. I'll note that my milk didn't turn creamy from the yeast (this is not the first time that happened) and I didn't beat the eggs into peaks, but the mixture rose beautifully, anyway, and the waffles turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I didn't really know what to expect cause I didn't know what Belgian waffle was like. It was good but for all the work I had to do, I was a bit disappointed. I think it's that a bit soury smell/taste from yeast that didn't appeal to me too much. My hubby looooooved it though but it's a bit too much work so I'm not sure if I would ever make it again especially when I know that Fluffy pancake from this site is so good and easy to make for breakfast menu. Even my hubby said not to worry about making it again cause he was there during all the prep time. I may not be trying this again but for those who don't mind all the work, it would be worth trying. For some people especially those experts or those who love cooking, they may even think the prep work isn't so bad. I did make the batter the night before, too like some reviews suggested. I don't know if that made any difference in the flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Best waffles ever. My husband went ballistic over them. I topped half with syrup and saved half the batter and made dessert style topping with cream cheese strawberry jam fresh strawberries with icing sugar drizzled with chocolate sauce they were totally over the top. My husband even took some cold to work and they were so light and fluffy but crispy on the outside. Don't skimp on the vanilla it totally makes the waffles great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I must say I am not a very big waffle lover.. and I do think this waffle has a bit of an after taste maybe..I dont know what it is I taste.. BUTT I really loved the recipe... I have a normal size waffle maker.. I think It made 15 or 16.. and we ate just a few and the rest I put in the freezer so my daughter can bring them to school in her lunchbox or just whenever I dont have anything for lunch/breakfast at home I can take them out..put them in the toaster and they are as fresh as the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renate Topsakal Kniep

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I thought these were good but not as amazing as everyone said. I bought an inexpensive Belgian waffle iron to see if we liked Belgian waffles well enough to make them somewhat often (in which case I'd ask for a better iron for Christmas or bday), so the iron could be the problem. My husband and I found the waffles to not be as crisp as we wanted and also to be a little bit tough. I wonder if I overmixed the dough while incorporating the flour and milk; I wasn't sure how thoroughly I should mix in between flour or milk additions. I was disappointed in the outcome, since it took me about 45 min to make the batter (night before, and it did rise in the fridge very nicely). The batter was very thick and stretchy, much more like dough than traditional batter. It made 8 big waffles in my Belgian waffle maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States