Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Super yummy! I used almond milk and only 1/2 cup butter, and let it sit overnight in the fridge. It did not double but it was very foamy/bubbly. Wonderful taste and texture. We made it for a playdate with a bunch of 3-4 year olds and it was a total hit with everyone. I had a regular waffle iron and this recipe yielded approximately 10 (8") waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter except that I made it the night before and let it rise in the fridge. These waffles are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Woops, havent tried this one yet, accidently rated the wrong one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe makes awesomely delicious waffles. I add more vanilla, about 2 -3 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made for Christmas morning, and making again tomorrow morning for my daughter's sleepover. Excellent, excellent flavor, texture, soft in the middle and crispy on the outside! I made the mistake of making a double batch on Christmas morning. This recipe makes a lot of waffles. There are 4 in my family, and I believe a single batch made 10 large, restaurant size waffles that take up most of a medium size plate. I have a couple of huge waffle fans in my family, and a single batch would have been PLENTY. Also, I mixed this up, put it in the fridge overnight, and it rose just fine. Maybe not as much as if the dough had been allowed to double in room temperature, but it definitely rose! I simply pulled it out the next morning and cooked the waffles. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
this recipe is excellent. these are what I expect out of a waffle. they are tender and have good flavor. i like yeast and yeast bread. this recipe has yeast, so suprise it is going to have some yeast flavor. some don't like it. I do. the crispyness might depend on the wffle iron you use and temp you make them at. i don't prefer a crispy waffle, so these turn out amazing with what i use. which is a standard belgian waffle maker you find in any dept store. if you are looking for a crisp crunchy waffle without yeast flavor, you might want to try a recipe without yeast. these are the best i have found, and i have looked all over the webs, even a waffle specific website. another suprise, when using yeast it usualy means you have to let whatever you are making rise....which takes time. i know, shocking. you might have to prepare ahead of time. Eat these waffles and be happy, and if you want to be happier eat them with home made whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and these were far below sub-standard. Instead of crispy and fluffy, they were cake-like, definitely NOT what I am accustomed to in a waffle, Belgian or not. While the batter did have a nice flavor and great lift, the final product was wanting...for an immediate replacement. My recommendation is to pass on this one and try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Excellent recipe, just what I was looking for. Followed the recipe exactly as written and they came out perfect. Next time I will make the night before and leave the batter in the fridge so they are ready to go for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Rosen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I was very disappointed. These are heavy bread like waffles. I think beating egg whites is a wasted step on any waffle recipe. Eggs puff up when cooked. I am glad so many others liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this on Christmas morning. While it was a bit involved the waffles were absolutely wonderful!! My kids and I enjoyed these for breakfast for two days after! Don't be turned off by the amount of time these take to make, they turned out perfect!! We will definitely be making these again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States