Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
It's time to get rid of the waffle mix and do the real deal. I've had nothing but wonderful comments about my waffles since using this recipe. Recommendations: Take the eggs out of the refrigerator early. Cold egg whites don't whip up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Hastings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
The waffles tasted very good and we did enjoy eating them so I gave them 5 stars for taste. Wish I could have rated them 4 1/2 stars though and this is why. I always try to dirty as few cooking utensils and dishes as I possibly can when preparing a dish but this recipe just doesn't work that way. Also(and this may be the fault of the waffle iron I only paid $19.99 for.) when cooking them the iron stopped steaming after only a couple of minutes and had to reheat which lead to more steaming and overcooked spots in each waffle when finished. This was only the second time I've used it and the first time I made a basic baking powder recipe and had no problem with cooking those waffles, it worked exactly as it was supposed to. I did get 12 waffles instead of 8 and that was using the 3/4 cup of batter my waffle iron calls for so it does make more than stated in the recipe. All in all the taste was very good but the effort was beyond what I wanted to go trough for a breakfast for dinner night. If I make them again I'll try another reviewers method of making the batter the day before and refrigerating it until your ready to make the waffles. That being said, I'm not a syrup person so having them with fresh fruit and whipped cream was perfect. My son had his with fresh blueberry sauce (From the Blueberry French Toast recipe submitted by Robin) and I had mine with sliced and lightly sugared fresh strawberries each topped with whipped cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
These are great waffles. it takes a little time to prepare these, and a touch of culinary experience; but is is MORE than worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nia Gray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
True Belgian waffles. As long as you get the yeast to activate, if you don't like these, you either don't like waffles or you did something wrong. Make sure you have the right kind of waffle iron. I've made this a number of times and frankly I've screwed up on a number of steps and they still came out the best that I've ever had outside of a couple higher end restaurants I can think of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonathan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Oh my G!!!!!!!!! So worth the prep time. Not like ANYTHING out of any box or mix. TRY THIS!!!! Crispy on the outside, nice and fluffy inside. What more could be said? I followed the advice of another and made the mix up the night before. BTW, when they say the volume doubles.....it sooooo does! Over the top of my bowl and all over the refrig. Still, it was well worth all the effort. FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly and mine came out horrible. They looked pretty, but taste aweful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I just came back from Belgium where I feasted on delicious, sweet, melt in your mouth waffles. In my opinion this waffle recipe fell flat. I didn't think these were doughy, sweet, or crispy enough. They honestly didn't taste that much different than a typical American waffle and the effort to make them was significant. Real Belgian waffles are much much sweeter than these without any topping whatsoever. They're also supposed to be much more bread like (imagine a doughy center of a cinnamon roll type consistency). These were just a little tiny bit doughier than typical waffles. I think I'll keep searching for the right Belgian waffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Great recipe that makes 8-10 Belgium waffles! I followed the recipe as written except added whole eggs to butter & sugar rather than separating them. I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I am not sure if I did something wrong with the waffles, or what but they didn't rise at all. I made sure my milk was no warmer or colder than the temperatures indicated. When I let it sit for an hour, the batter got 'bubbley' but didn't rise. When, I put them in the maker to cook them they were kind of flat. I may try it again, but not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi Dietz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I just received my new Belgian Waffle Maker and decided to make them for dinner and freeze the leftovers. They were delicious. I've never made waffles but I will be making this recipe often! My husband has always made the waffles in our old, two waffle iron. After many years, we decided to replace it and I bought the Presto Flip Belgian waffle maker. My batter rose so much, it dripped over the bowl; fortunately it was on a cookie sheet in the oven, so I managed to save the overflow. Next time I know to use a larger bowl. It was a time consuming recipe and uses lots of bowls, so I can see why most like to make it and store it overnight. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States