Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This is an awesome recipe... be prepared though, it makes a lot more than 8 servings. LOL Granted, it all depends on how big a serving you give out. I got 18 5"x5" waffles out of this. The first time I made them, I didn't modify. The second time, I replaced the all purpose flour with gluten-free flour; exchanged the vanilla for 1 tsp maple flavouring, 1 tsp vanilla; and white sugar for 1/3 cup brown sugar + 4 tbs maple syrup. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
My family loves these waffles! You have to have a little foresight to pull them of but they are worth the planning, letting the yeast in the batter do it's thing is a must. They have just the right crispiness on the outside while still being light & fluffy. I made them for brunch for friends & everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy2of6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gimmymore
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I followed the recipe as is and I will admit this is not a quick to do recipe BUT it is well worth it in the end.This recipe was so good it made my 18 year old daughter get off her butt and wash the dishes right after we ate without me giving the eye. I will be making this again and oh yeah plus I got a big thank you mom from her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmymore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
The yeast made all the difference. I've tried lots of waffle recipes and this is the one I'm sticking with. My family LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Fantastic! Yes, they were more trouble than my regular waffles, but the whole family loved them. They're much more substantial than non-yeast waffles. I used a regular waffle iron with good results, but if you have both, I'd try the deeper one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These were SO good!!!! We absolutely loved them. They are definitely a different kind of waffle with the yeast, but we loved it...and such great crispy outsides!! My husband actually liked them better than our favorite buttermilk recipe we usually use! They cooked perfect in about 5 minutes on our new waffle plates for our Cusinart Griddler. The only problem we had was that I didn't read the recipe thoroughly enough and we were ready to eat, then realized they had to rise for an hour first. Eek. Well worth the wait though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Without any butter, I substituted with margarine. With little time, I put all the ingredients in a jug and used a hand blender to blend everything. Waited til the batter rose to double, then put a golf ball size amount of batter into the batter iron. Ate it with coffee gelato that I made myself. Crispy & cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great! My Belgian waffle maker took 1 cup of batter and about 2 1/2 min to make a crispy waffle. I also sprinkled some pearl sugar into some for that sugar crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Una

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I have hade many different type of waffles resipes. I must say this is the one for me!!! I was nervus about a yeast waffle not having much luck with yeast breads and such but I did good. I did not stir the mix after the rise. this gave it a full flavor. it will deflate after you scoop it out onto the gridle. I used the mix the next day and it tasted even better. do not be afraid of the beer smell. thats the way it smells. I say agin do NOT mix after it rises. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W VA Scottie F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
awesome. I made these 2x now. First time waiting an hour and second time slow rise overnight in fridge. The slow rise batter seemed quite a bit thicker than when I waited an hour. Both turned out great in taste and texture, but the second time was a little harder to get evenly spread in maker without overfilling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary
Home Town: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States