Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made for Christmas morning, and making again tomorrow morning for my daughter's sleepover. Excellent, excellent flavor, texture, soft in the middle and crispy on the outside! I made the mistake of making a double batch on Christmas morning. This recipe makes a lot of waffles. There are 4 in my family, and I believe a single batch made 10 large, restaurant size waffles that take up most of a medium size plate. I have a couple of huge waffle fans in my family, and a single batch would have been PLENTY. Also, I mixed this up, put it in the fridge overnight, and it rose just fine. Maybe not as much as if the dough had been allowed to double in room temperature, but it definitely rose! I simply pulled it out the next morning and cooked the waffles. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
this recipe is excellent. these are what I expect out of a waffle. they are tender and have good flavor. i like yeast and yeast bread. this recipe has yeast, so suprise it is going to have some yeast flavor. some don't like it. I do. the crispyness might depend on the wffle iron you use and temp you make them at. i don't prefer a crispy waffle, so these turn out amazing with what i use. which is a standard belgian waffle maker you find in any dept store. if you are looking for a crisp crunchy waffle without yeast flavor, you might want to try a recipe without yeast. these are the best i have found, and i have looked all over the webs, even a waffle specific website. another suprise, when using yeast it usualy means you have to let whatever you are making rise....which takes time. i know, shocking. you might have to prepare ahead of time. Eat these waffles and be happy, and if you want to be happier eat them with home made whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and these were far below sub-standard. Instead of crispy and fluffy, they were cake-like, definitely NOT what I am accustomed to in a waffle, Belgian or not. While the batter did have a nice flavor and great lift, the final product was wanting...for an immediate replacement. My recommendation is to pass on this one and try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Excellent recipe, just what I was looking for. Followed the recipe exactly as written and they came out perfect. Next time I will make the night before and leave the batter in the fridge so they are ready to go for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Rosen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I was very disappointed. These are heavy bread like waffles. I think beating egg whites is a wasted step on any waffle recipe. Eggs puff up when cooked. I am glad so many others liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this on Christmas morning. While it was a bit involved the waffles were absolutely wonderful!! My kids and I enjoyed these for breakfast for two days after! Don't be turned off by the amount of time these take to make, they turned out perfect!! We will definitely be making these again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Used this recipe for Christmas morning with our new waffle maker, very delicious flavor, light and fluffy, best waffle I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Breschini

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
So the husband decided we needed a Belgian waffle maker, taking advantage of the pre-holiday sales he got one. I did some research and this recipe looked pretty user friendly. I make a roll recipe that uses egg whites folded in that is a big hit so I figured this was a good pick. Following recipe and waffle iron directions to the letter, I was ready to give this recipe a 1 star. The guys had returned from their black Friday holiday shopping and were starving. The waffles were coming out horribly. I grabbed my trusty cookbook and whipped up a plain waffle mix. After 2 failed attempts with that, I decided to get out my 25 yr+ old waffle iron and see what would happen with it. Got the guys fed using my trusty old iron and moved on to this recipe's remaining batter. Oh yum! Turned out just like I thought it should. Crispy and golden brown on the outside, light and tasty on the inside. I'll be keeping this recipe and returning the "new" iron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
It's pretty good. As some other wrote, it doesn't seem quite worth the amount of time required, but I can see doing this again. I'll note that my milk didn't turn creamy from the yeast (this is not the first time that happened) and I didn't beat the eggs into peaks, but the mixture rose beautifully, anyway, and the waffles turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I didn't really know what to expect cause I didn't know what Belgian waffle was like. It was good but for all the work I had to do, I was a bit disappointed. I think it's that a bit soury smell/taste from yeast that didn't appeal to me too much. My hubby looooooved it though but it's a bit too much work so I'm not sure if I would ever make it again especially when I know that Fluffy pancake from this site is so good and easy to make for breakfast menu. Even my hubby said not to worry about making it again cause he was there during all the prep time. I may not be trying this again but for those who don't mind all the work, it would be worth trying. For some people especially those experts or those who love cooking, they may even think the prep work isn't so bad. I did make the batter the night before, too like some reviews suggested. I don't know if that made any difference in the flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States