Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I liked the flavor of these waffles, but the texture was a bit heavier than I was expecting. I think it was because the batter was a bit thick. I will try this with using less flour and more milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I agree with others that you should substitute for 1/4 of buttermilk (not for the yeast raising, though) and make this the night before. The buttermilk adds a nice flavor (if you like buttermilk, as I do). I did not let this raise for an hour on the counter, but instead put it right in the fridge after I folded in the egg whites (we were grilling outside and I did not want to forget about it). It sat for about 12 hours and was delicious, but I had some left over batter. We finished them the next morning, and I liked them even more (36 hours in the fridge). My waffle iron did not make them crispy, but I eat them with butter and maple syrup, so they weren't going to stay crispy anyway. Thanks for the recipe! Decidedly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I agree with most of the reviews...this is a great recipe. But wanted to add a note that these waffles FREEZE better than any other recipe I have tried! They do not shrink or shrivel or get that baking powder taste after freezing and reheating. We just pop the frozen squares in the toaster oven and we are off! Today it is HOT outside and it is so nice to know I have a freezer full of waffles and I do not have to cook dinner. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So good! I've made mine a night before. Works perfectly for the following breakfast. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
These are fantastic - prepared exactly as written and worth the time. I tried a few other recipes and the waffles came out dry, these even feel more substantial to pick up. I make these once a week and we enjoy the leftovers for a quick breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It was very delicious! I didn't changed anything and I had 4 fantastic fluffy waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Keeper alert - I don’t normally get excited about waffles. We have them every Sunday, including the dog. To me, most are pretty much like eating cardboard, thus I load them up with strawberries and whipped cream. In preparing, I halved the recipe, so I used two eggs. We could tell that this was going to be the exception when the smells started filling the kitchen. The texture is light and cakelike, the flavor is ideal for eating plain or with toppings – just perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I did try it, followed the recipe for 8 exactly as written. The batter did double in size and I made 8 waffles in my new Oster Belgian waffle iron. They were wonderful. I will try halving the recipe since there are only two of us and will also make the batter the night before. I'm still amazed at how good this recipe is. I will never use a mix again. I did keep the waffles warm in a 250° oven on a wire rack. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef-dad-corey
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is my first time making these. PERFECT! I followed the directions exactly and these waffles were amazing! I topped them with French vanilla ice cream, whip cream, fresh fruit and dusted with icing sugar! And of course maple syrup! Thanks for sharing this recipe. It has been added to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States