Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
we had a waffle party . we set up a waffle bar for toppings . everyone loved them great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These are without question the finest Belgian waffles I have ever had. I mixed them up the evening before and refrigerated overnight. Pulled them out bright And early to give the yeast time to warm up and start working again before I baked them. I have tried many recipes including the one that came with my good Belgian waffler and this surpasses them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
4.5 star , good but not practical when you are in hurry . since there a lot of sugar in it , it will brown very quickly. what i like a bout this is that it stays crispy even it cool down the key is to use very hot temp and not much of the batter. this make a lot more than 8 with my waffle make it make about 15. will deveniatly make this again if have time the night before. and next time half the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Thank you Bobbi Jo for sharing a great recipe with us. My family loved these waffles, Just perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I made these for breakfast christmas morning and they were absolutely divine with fresh berries on top. It makes a huge batch, and my waffle iron is a true belgian waffle iron so they are very large. I went ahead and cooked up the excess batter and froze the waffles. These are just as delicious reheated as they are fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I have never reviewed a recipe before but I must after two mornings of these delicious waffles! My in-laws bought us a belgian waffle maker and after trying the recipe that came with the machine, we were disappointed. The batter was watery even after an hour rise. I spent the week perusing recipes and found this one. Oh my goodness was it good. I made half of the batter on Saturday and the other half on Sunday. They were even better the next day. I fully recommend these waffles. They were crispy yet soft on the inside. They were nice and sweet with a great yeasty flavor. I'm done searching for the perfect recipe as this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckoaks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Yum. These were wonderful waffles. Great texture and flavor. Definitely worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These are awesome! I've made these many times and they are always a hit. I've made the batter 2 days in advance with no noticable difference. I also freeze extras and reheat them in the toaster! I took some of the other reviewers advice and this is how I altered it. Ingredients •1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast •1 tsp sugar •1/4 cup warm milk (105-115 degrees F/45 degrees C) (about 10-15 sec in microwave) •3 egg yolks •2 3/4 cups warm milk (105-115 degrees F/45 degrees C) •3/4 cup butter, melted and cooled to lukewarm(cooler than 115 degrees) •1/2 cup white sugar •1 1/2 teaspoons salt •2 teaspoons vanilla extract •4 cups all-purpose flour (or 2c wheat 2c white) •3 egg whites Directions 1.In a small bowl, dissolve yeast and 1 tsp sugar in 1/4 cup warm milk. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes. 2. In a large bowl, whisk together the egg yolks, ¼ c of warm milk, and melted butter. Add the milk/yeast/sugar mixture, salt, sugar, and vanilla; stir. Stir in the remaining 2 1/2 cups milk alternately with the flour, ending with the flour. In a separate bowl beat the egg whites until they form soft peaks; fold into the batter. Cover the bowl tightly with plastic wrap. Let rise in a warm place until doubled in volume, about 1 hour (or in fridge overnight, up to two days in advance). Step 3 didn't change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I finally received my Belgium waffle iron for Christmas. So I made this recipe as soon as I got it set up. THEY WHERE DELICIOUS.... The taste is so worth the wait :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Milliner

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fulda, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Hornell, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I made the waffles for Christmas brunch. I'm pretty sure I followed the directions to a T, but they were very yeasty and did not taste good at all. I spent a long time preparing the batter. The labor wouldn't have been so bad had the waffles been better. The texture was nice, but they where so yeasty that I ened up going to the store to get my stand-by box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States