Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These were SO good!!!! We absolutely loved them. They are definitely a different kind of waffle with the yeast, but we loved it...and such great crispy outsides!! My husband actually liked them better than our favorite buttermilk recipe we usually use! They cooked perfect in about 5 minutes on our new waffle plates for our Cusinart Griddler. The only problem we had was that I didn't read the recipe thoroughly enough and we were ready to eat, then realized they had to rise for an hour first. Eek. Well worth the wait though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Without any butter, I substituted with margarine. With little time, I put all the ingredients in a jug and used a hand blender to blend everything. Waited til the batter rose to double, then put a golf ball size amount of batter into the batter iron. Ate it with coffee gelato that I made myself. Crispy & cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great! My Belgian waffle maker took 1 cup of batter and about 2 1/2 min to make a crispy waffle. I also sprinkled some pearl sugar into some for that sugar crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Una

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I have hade many different type of waffles resipes. I must say this is the one for me!!! I was nervus about a yeast waffle not having much luck with yeast breads and such but I did good. I did not stir the mix after the rise. this gave it a full flavor. it will deflate after you scoop it out onto the gridle. I used the mix the next day and it tasted even better. do not be afraid of the beer smell. thats the way it smells. I say agin do NOT mix after it rises. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by W VA Scottie F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
awesome. I made these 2x now. First time waiting an hour and second time slow rise overnight in fridge. The slow rise batter seemed quite a bit thicker than when I waited an hour. Both turned out great in taste and texture, but the second time was a little harder to get evenly spread in maker without overfilling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary
Home Town: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I made these for the first time today. Even with the old, thrift store waffle iron I own, they are the best, BEST waffles I've ever had! I've never even made home-made waffles before, but this recipe came out perfectly. Just crispy enough at the edges and the flavor is wonderful. I like them plain best, without any topping, as the flavor stands all on it's own. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
were not light, could not eat plain because they had no taste. I expected then to be light and fluffy I was so very wrong. I am going back to the buttermilk recipe I have that uses seltzer water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
As I am new to making Belgian waffles, I decided to make this recipe as well as Emma's Belgian Waffle recipe from this site to do a side by side comparison for my family and our brunch guests. Every single person decided that Emma's Belgian Waffle recipe was superior to this recipe...but it was noted that if the recipes hadn't been made side by side they would have liked this recipe and that they weren't necessarily bad. The yeast flavor is distinct in this recipe and as there is none in Emma's Belgian Waffle recipe, you might want to choose this recipe instead. Every person noted that the texture (soft inside and crisp outside) and flavor were inferior to Emma's Belgian Waffles as this recipe provided a slightly more rubbery texture and a more bland flavor. If you desire a more savory waffle with an overall softer texture, this recipe may be the one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
We loved these, we made them last weekend for the 1st time, and here I am back for the recipe this weekend! These are a true belgian waffle, and well worth the trouble :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States