Belgian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
After draining all of the excess "sauce" the salad was a lot more crisp and fresh tasting than I had anticipated with using so much canned goods. A sweet pickling salad that is a good side for most any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
The recipe is great as is! But it is amendable as needed depending on the fresh vegetables you have on hand or in season. I add purple onion for color, but soak them in a bit of vinegar and water on their own and add them at the last minute so their dye doesn't recolor the lighter colored veggies! Soggier fresh veggies may be added about 30 minutes before serving...like zucchini or yellow squash... just be sure to chop them cold from the fridge so they won't warm up the salad. I've added water chestnuts for crunch...green chilies for heat...different kinds of beans for color. There isn't much from you garden that will not go with this salad and it's dressing. You can even add shredded cabbage and turn it into a vegetable slaw. And yes! The vinegar syrup may be used to can and pickle just about everything, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Delicious!! I agree with cutting the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nixon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This was a nice easy vegetable side dish. I chose to use frozen steamable veggies (par-steamed) instead of canned per personal preference, and subbed asparagus for green beans. This wasn't Mr. LTH's favorite side, but I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
The only thing I changed was the amount of sugar-I used 1/4 cup and it was great. If you take it anywhere, be prepared with copies of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This has been a popular recipe in our family for several decades. The only change I would strongly recommend is to cut the sugar in half- 1/2 cup (or less). I add green pepper and 1/4 t celery seed. My kids even ate it when they were little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4fun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Delicious-made only some minor changes. Substituted asparagus for the green beans, added black beans, and omitted celery-YUMMY! Everyone enjoyed it-even my husband who is not a fan of "marinated salads."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Used fresh green pepper instead of pimento-----AWESOME!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Living In: Monticello, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I made this earlier today and it is "marinating" as we speak. I too used evoo and red wine vinegar and only used 2 tbsp of sugar (and it's still sweet). One cup would make my teeth fall out. Added the black beans and I am also going to add some fresh basil to it tonight just before I serve it. Yum - thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
What a neat recipe! I halved the recipe as I was cooking for only two. I used small (8 oz.) cans of the veggies, and that worked just fine. I think I might try the other reviewer's suggestion of adding black beans, but otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States