Belgian Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
very tasty - thick and filling- we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
HAS to be Belgian beer, nothing else. I tried this recipe with ordinary dark beer - not the same It must be the herbs in the Belgian beer !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Not what I was expecting but good. I used fresh spinach because I had some on hand instead of parsley. The family seemed to like it. It was lighter than I expected. I used Blue Moon Wheat Ale but next time, I'm going with a Hardcastle Dark to see if it "beefs" it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
For a real Belgian stew, add some essential herbs and spices: cloves, bay laurel leaves and a thyme sprig. Also we don't put flour, but a slice or two of dark bread, spread with mustard to thicken the sauce. Don't put lemon either, nor bacon. And per kilo of meat, you need two really large onions. And the most important, we serve it with French fries, essential. Bake the fries twice to make them less greasy and more crispy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I was pretty excited to try out this recipe, as I live in Belgium and have had many delicious stews in restaurants & cafes here. But after I made this I was kind of disappointed. I followed the original recipe exactly. The hosue smelled very good while everything was cooking, but the stew itself seemed to lack alot of flavor, and the flavors that were mixed together didn't seem to go very well, definitely not like any of the stews I've had here. I noticed some of the other reviewers made alot of changes to the orig. recipe, maybe next time I will try some of their suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
It tasted very sweet, like it had sugar in it. I made it for myself & my children and we did not enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Beef was very tender & flavorful until the end when the lemon juice was added. I normally really like lemon, but it was just too much for this dish. Next time I would start with maybe half that amount of lemon juice, and/or do part lemon juice & part vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This was very good! I'd just add some extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meowz
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Great recipe. I used a bottle of Chimay red (a Belgian Trappist ale) and also added a twig of rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meowz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Well, this is just fair but strays too far from a true Belgian stew - we are going back to our old recipe. Carbonnade should have belgian or similar ale and vinegar - not lemon juice. Take lean stew beef, dredged in flour - brown and deglaze pan with broth, set aside. Thick slices of regular onions (1.5 pounds) and 6 cloves of garlic crushed - brown on low heat until onions are caramelized - very dark and sweet. Add 2 cans beef broth, 2 tsp thyme, 2 bay leaves, 2 tbsp brown sugar, 2 tsps red wine vinegar and 16-24 ozs beer like Bass Ale. Cook 2 hours at 325, take lid off for the last hour to thicken. Add 2 - 3 more tsp red wine vinegar and season with salt and pepper - serve over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States