Bela's Stuffed Red Bell Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Used green peppers instead of red and onion powder instead of an actual onion (Hubby doesn't care for onions). Also added several more leaves of swiss chard...we like our greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A great idea for a New Year treat! I didn't have peppers, so I sauteed the onion and garlic, then added black eyed peas, canned mushrooms and a ton of swiss chard. A little seasoning topped it off. Served over a bed of rice, this was superb -- and super easy. Great for someone who really doesn't care for black eyed peas too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe! I doubled the ingredients (8) and added all of the Swiss Chard (bunch) also, I added a half cup of parmesan cheese to the mix. AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Love this recipe! I added diced mushrooms, and sauteed them with the onions, garlic, and olice oil before adding the beans and rice. I also substituted baby spinach for swiss chard because that's what I had on hand. Came out great! Two meat eaters gave it rave reviews and said if they didn't know if was a vegetarian recipe, they wouldn't have guessed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Great vegetarian version of stuffed peppers! I did cook the rice in beef broth, next time I may use mushroom broth to "beef" it up & keep it truly vegetarian. I also added stewed tomatoes to the black eyed pea mixture, as it appeared a bit dry for stuffing and baked the peppers in tomato juice as I like a saucy stuffed pepper. I didn't garnish it with cheese, but my husband thought it needed it...something his Mom did I suppose. Thank you MOTTSBELA for sharing your recipe! I agree with other reviews about a great way to use black eyed peas, but also my overabundance of swiss chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Creativenicole
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made quite a few modifications but this recipe is pretty forgiving...it turned out amazing! I had a meat eater say "if I could eat stuff like this every day, it would be easy to be a vegeatarian". Only thing with this recipe is it took way longer to roast the red peppers...closer to 40 minutes. I added mushrooms and used extra swiss chard (rainbow chard actually) like some of the other users. The mushrooms were good for a meaty texture. I cooked the rice with diced tomatoes/broth along with the water. I used chick peas instead of black eyed peas, because that's what I had. I think the others would be better, but it was still delish. I also added a cheese alternative to the mix to keep it sticky. A few dashes of cumin and drizze of agave nectar in the mix rounded out the flavor nicely. The photo with the red peppers were mine. They tasted as good as they looked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was really good. I feel like it just lacked a tiny bit of flavor. I would maybe add some thyme or oregano to it next time, but it was excellent otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
great basic recipe...great directions...i was actually successful! woohoo! I added a texican flare and incorporated oregano and black beans while it was simmering and then a little bit of taco seasoning, cumin and cilantro at the end before stuffing....ahhhmazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I really liked it, but next time I will use twice the garlic. It might also be good with some sort of sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAZ
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Great recipe! Made a few modifications, I also had to bake the bell peppers for about 40 minutes. I added cumin and cayenne pepper, extra chard, and cilantro just before serving. I also cooked the brown rice with vegetable broth. It was delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States