Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
The word beignet (pronounced bey-YAY) comes from the early Celtic word bigne meaning "to raise." It is also French for "fritter." Beignets, a New Orleans specialty, are fried, raised pieces of yeast dough, usually about 2 inches in diameter or 2 inches square. After being fried, they are sprinkled with sugar or coated with various icings. No matta how ya do it its yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Made beignets one morning and they were very good but had lots of dough sitting in the fridge for more than a week. I read another reviewer who said the dough makes great cinnamon rolls so I decided to try. The dough rolled out beautifully even though it was in the fridge under plastic wrap for at least 10 days. It took a little longer for them to rise but they are in the oven now and looking delicious. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Photo by julkins
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was a fantastic recipe. I have never had beignets before, but this has sold me on them. I suggest making sure they turn dark brown when they are frying to make sure they are cooked inside. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My neighbors, hubby and kids all loved this recipe. My first batch (20) rose beautifully in the fridge. However, I rolled it out too thin so there was a crispy outside with nothing in the middle. I used the left over dough for cinnamon rolls (10 -fabulous) and another batch of beignets (40). The left overs don't rise as well after being in the freezer but rolling them out a little thicker sure helped the insides. Not as good as the Disneyland beignets we had last week...but fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very nice. Not too much work either since you break up the work from the night to the morning. That being said... this did make an awful lot though. 10 servings??? WOW. I found the exact same recipe elsewhere online and it says that it makes FIVE DOZEN. I will probably half this recipe next time. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Hey, I used Paula Deen's recipe and they are exactly the same! The thinner you roll the dough squares, the more they puff up. But don't roll the dough out super thin, or the puffs will pop. The beignet themselves aren't really sweet, so add lots of powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe pleased a crowd of beignet-lovers for Christmas breakfast. Thanks so much for the recipe! I am a believer in trying a recipe as it's written when I first make it, and make adjustments in subsequent attempts. But after reading reviewer comments, I did add one teaspoon of vanilla. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I am a Yankee farm girl who married a ragen cajun LOL. I had very little knowledge of traditional New Orleans food. I made these for my husband and asked him what he thought. He danced around and yelled BON BON and gave me a big kiss. He grabbed a plate full a cup of coffee and headed to his favorite chair! He looked like a four year old who just got a puppy for christmas! Guess that about says it all! Thanks so much, you saved my yankee hide! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharpsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was looking for the recipe from The Jazz Kitchen in Downtown Disney and noticed this recipe is very similar to the one posted on The Jazz Kitchen's website. My beignets didn't come out as fluffy or as soft as the one in DTD, but it was still good. Next time, I'm going to add a bit of vanilla (like others have suggested) and 1 more tbs of evaporated milk because my dough came out a little hard and dry. Maybe it's because I used my kitchen aid mixer to blend all the ingredients together...hand mixing dough always comes out with better results. Also, please note that this recipe is massive, even when I halved it. I need suggestions as to what to do with the extra dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Made these today. The only modification I made, other than halving the recipe.. was adding 1 tsp of vanilla. Everyone raved about them!!! My only problem was that some of them didn't puff up. I know that probably had to do w/my inexperience frying things, and I only let them sit in the fridge for about an hr, so I didn't knock a star off. LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crsparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States