Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Excellent recipe that everyone from small children to grandparents love. I SUBSTITUTED BUTTER FOR SHORTENING because they have found that trans fats (hydrogenated oils like shortening and margarine) are unhealthy. Otherwise, they were excellent, easy, and kept in the fridge for about a week as a ball of dough. This recipe yields a lot more than 10 servings, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I have used this recipe many many times. The whole family loves them. I have even made them for friends. Everybody loves them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Excellent! The recipe makes a large quantity. Almost as good as going to Cafe du Monde!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
These were really good. Only reason they didn't score 5/5 stars is because they weren't quite as wonderful cold as they were fresh and hot from the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalhousie, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Miramichi, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
These remind me somewhat of Funnel Cake, these are less messy and very good. Great with a little added vanilla extract and sprinkled with cinnnamon/sugar! Could pipe in French Cream Filling or Almond Custard Filling found on this site (fruit/fruit fillings would be good also)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fettchick77
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
These were great, light and fluffy. They reminded me more of what I got in New Orleans at Cafe du Monde than their mix does. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fettchick77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These were so yummy, they make up a huge batch, but I couldn't keep them in the plate! Great for big family get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItsJustMe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Yummo, I can not make donuts but this recipe turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
Kimberely, your photo is beautiful and very professional looking! I made these last Spring when my sister got me some Chicory coffee from New Orleans. I have never had the famous ones in New Orleans, so I didn't have anything to compare them to. I thought they were very good, my husband thought they were a bit doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
My Family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States