Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I am from Louisiana and have been in Georgia for 8 years. I missed beignets so much and was unsuccessfull in finding a worthy recipe, but this one is wonderful! Tastes just like it did when we had them for school breakfast and at many dine-ins. Great Job! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Baham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolle Hathaway Gray
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is great recipe .I used a brown lunch bag filled with powdered sugar . It remind's me of Cafe Du Monde's beignets in New orleans . I like to eat beignets with Chicory coffee .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolle Hathaway Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I loved these. I think they were better than the beignets they serve up the street from my house. Just make sure you add about 1-2 Tablespoons (yes I said tablespoons) of vanilla, it will give it the kick it needs and use more powdered suger. Another note, make sure the dough is not too thick when you roll it out, or they will be too doughy in the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great recipe. I think that substituting condensed milk for evaporated milk, as one reviewer did, is an excellent choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I've been to New Orleans and loved the beignets but these were not at all like I remember. They could use something because they were very bland tasting. I didn't even finish frying all of them because I was so disappointed with the results. Maybe that's why everyone else doctored them up with other things. They could have used some vanilla or serve them with jelly. I won't make again. Sorry. I had such high hopes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Just made these yesterday and they were very good. I've never had actual beignets so do not have anything to compare. My kids helped "decorate" them. I gave one a brown bag with powdered sugar and one with cinnamon and sugar. Then for fun my son got a bowl of chocolate frosting we made and my daughter got a strawberry (she loves everything pink!). The whole time they kept saying how this was so much fun while their mouths were stuffed with a new beignet. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Yum!! This was so easy. I didn't refrigerate this dough at all and it was still easy to work with. I was able to inject creme and jelly filling in these too because they puff nicely. If you have a doughnut cutter, roll the dough to about 1/2 inch, they make great doughnuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
You can't go wrong with fried dough. But it seemed to make much more than 10 servings. I think that I had enough to feed everyone on the street.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Doubled the recipe for my ESL class. Made beignets 1 day and made cinnamon rolls today. recipe is easy and delicious. My students and family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I've never been to New Orleans so I have nothing to compare these with. That being said, how can you go wrong??? It's fried dough! I was looking for something to meet the "fried in oil" tradition of Hanukkah without my inlaws tradition of Dunkin' Donuts; hence the beignets. The dough was very easy to work with and I rolled these out and had them cut up and ready to go hours before dessert. That way they were fresh and hot and oh so yummy when were were ready for dessert. I made these last night dusted with powdered sugar but had way too much dough for our small family so I covered and fridged the rest for the next day (if you do this, make sure they are well dusted top and bottom with flour so they don't stick). Today I fried up some more (they puffed up just as lovely as yesterday) and sprinkled them with granulated sugar, perhaps tomorrow I'll try cinnamon sugar. My hubby who misses his traditional D.D. jelly donut put jelly in the middle of 1 uncooked piece of beinet dough and topped with another piece of dough and pinched it all the way around and fried it up, then dredged in sugar. YUMMY! My son just came in from college class and threw in a few to fry for a snack and he concurs, 5 stars!!We have definitely left beignet tradition but I love a recipe that I can play with and create my own twist. Thanks Regina, my who family enjoyed playing with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States