Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Wow...my husband and daughter loved having a New Orleans type breakfast this morning, complete with a chickory blend of coffee that I happened to have. Been to Cafe DuMonde too many times to count and they said these were even better. For most of them, I used the traditional powdered sugar, and a few with cinnamon/sugar mixture. After cutting them with a pizza cutter, I let them sit for about 15 minutes while finishing up the bacon and when they cooked, they quadrupled in size--just beautiful. I am definitely going to take the previous reviewer's advise and make cinnamon-pecan rolls with the rest tomorrow. And maybe next time a spinach/mushroom type mixture since it's not sweet unless coated with sugar. This is absolutely a great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. The dough just gets better as you let it sit in the fridge. Because it makes so much, you can just pull out what you want to cook, punch the rest down and put it back in the fridge. You can also make cinnamon rolls out of this recipe as well. Roll it out into a rectangle, spread butter on it, sprinkle it with cinnamon/sugar mixture. I also fine chopped some apples and pecans and put in it as well. Roll up along the long side, pinch and seal the edge, then cut into inch wide rounds. Place cut side down on parchment paper and let them rise. Pop them in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes. Mix 2 T melted butter, 1 t. vanilla, 1 T milk and enough powdered sugar to make a thick spread and drizzle it on the rolls while they are still hot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
368 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hughes Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Yum!!! My dad used to make these for me when I was little. Now I can make them for my little girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Absolutely amazing!!!! I've never had the beignets in New Orleans but I think these taste great. They are like mini-fried doughs from fairs. The recipe yields a very large amount so I actually freeze a portion and make them later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
These Beignets were the best I've had with out actually going to Cafe Du Monde, I'm glad that I can still have warm, light beignets living in Montana! I couldn't figure out how long to chill for so I settled on about an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
My son is allergic to eggs to I took out the real eggs and changed it to 3 TBS of vegie oil, 3 TBS water & 2 tsp of baking powder. He LOVED them and so did the rest of my family and my neighbors. I had enough to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
These were a HUGE hit at a recent brunch. I definitely concur that you'll need more confectioner's sugar than the recipe calls for. Also, the recipes claims that it serves ten with the proportions provided. For me, the recipe made roughly 60 2" x 2" beignets. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These are fantastic. So Yummy right out of the hot oil. They were even good the next day. We just mocrowaved them for about 10 seconds to rewarm. My coworkers loved them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was a very good recipe. My dough turned out very sticky and I couldn't roll it out, so I pinched off pieces somewhere between teaspoon and tablespoon sized. The oil worked better for me between 320 and 340 degrees F. Next time I will add another half cup of flour and a teaspoon or so of vanilla. Still, it was delicious and I had plenty to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
These were awesome! The first couple I made them too big so it didn't get done in the middle but thereafter I got the hang of it! They really were great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsScarlettOhara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States