Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I have improved this already good recipe by cutting the sugar to 1/3rd cup and adding 3 teaspoons of malt powder plus a splash of vanilla extract. Fried in lard - what else? Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
after much thought I am giving this two stars and I will explain why. the dough turned out really awful and had to use almost another 3 cups of flour to get it to do anything and then all I could do was pinch it off and drop it in the frying pan. well I finished frying them handed one to the hubby to taste and they were all doughy on the inside. :( so I reheated the oil split them in half and went about frying them all over again. got about 20 done and the smoke detector started going off. apparently my oil DIDNOT want to try again. and i don't think i do either at least with this recipe. i am not even going to tell ya'll about the mess thats now in the kitchen. the reason i gave it 2 stars were because the 10 that turned out right were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
i'm from new orleans and must say this recipe is as close to the real deal as they come,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Wow! To the people saying this recipe is bland, you are obviously NOT from Louisiana! They are not supposed to really have a flavor! That's what the powdered sugar is for! I thought these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jane Ashley
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
PERFECT! Made some today and they are so so so beautiful and delicious. I'm impressed and so is everybody. i halved the recipe and left dough in the fridge for 48hrs or longer as I realized I didn't have enough flour for rolling the dough and oil for frying ;p Love how 'light' they are, hollow inside and crunchy on the outside. words dont do these gems justice. I'm so thankful for this recipe. until my hubby and i can afford a trip to new orleans, we'll make these often ;) thank you thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I agree with the others that said this was a bland dough. I even added some vanilla extract into the mix. If i tried these again, i would add more sugar, salt, and butter (instead of shortening). This makes a ton of dough; I halved the batch and will end up making around 30-40 of them. Make sure they are rolled out relatively thin, they poof up quite a bit. My husband thought they were better with maple syrup on top of the powdered sugar on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I don't want to rate anything or add it to my recipe file until after we've tried it at least once. This should be added in ALL CAPS with a minimum of 10 stars. These are as good as they get. My whole family says "Thank you"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernGma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These are sooo good! Made it twice for family and friends and my kids can't get enough of it. Easy to make and tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe is a good beignet recipe. Its a good idea to follow this recipe and chill the dough for 24 hours instead of letting it rise like other recipes. Adding vanilla was a great idea but it needs to be more than half a teaspoon, otherwise you can't taste it. When I made them I made about 5 dozen if they are cut into two by two squares. But it depends on how thin the dough is rolled out and the size of the squares. Cook them in the oil for about 30 seconds on each side in 360 degree oil. Super Yummy! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States