Beignets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
These were awesome! The first couple I made them too big so it didn't get done in the middle but thereafter I got the hang of it! They really were great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsScarlettOhara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I don't know. I must have done something wrong, but these didn't turn out how I would have liked. Bland, even though I added more vanilla and sugar. I heated the oil to the required temp, but they still were somewhat gooey (read: uncooked)on the inside. Finally I made very tiny balls, but they just didn't seem right. Will try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This recipe is now a family tradition for xmas morning! Of course...it is going to be made way more often than once a year...I'd be hard pressed to pick out which was Cafe Du Monde's (fresh in the cafe) and which was this recipe in a taste test. There is a STEP MISSING from the recipe and it is crucial!! After you have allowed the dough to rise punch out the dough flatten and then allow to rise a SECOND time...only needs to be for an hour. This will ensure the beignets are full and fluffy inside and not flat and well...not fluffy inside. Cheers, Dane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These are good. Like other reviewers I used sweetened condensed milk because it's what I had in my pantry. I sprinkled some with powdered sugar and some with cinnamon granulated sugar. My family liked the cinnamon better. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These were very good, my family thought they tasted even better after they cooled and sat for a while
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by claire
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
These were delicious!! I was in the same boat as another reviewer who didn't have evaporated milk. I used sweetened condensed milk instead and they turned out just fine. I used a small star cookie cutter and they were so cute! They were puffy and golden. Also, we tried topping them with hot fudge and it was fantastic. I would highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
WE made these for Hanukkah. The whole party joined in. As fast as we made them, people ate them. Easy and better then the box mix from cafe du monde.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Fabulous! I'll admit that I was nervous when I let the dough sit overnight and it looked like bread- but I fried it up and it was just like how I remember them tasting. The neighbors were impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
We made these at Christmas one year for an early breakfast December 26th. They were so easy to make and very delicious! Also, they weren't time consuming at all. We fed all 16 family members in record time! They were a hit. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
I am from Louisiana and have been in Georgia for 8 years. I missed beignets so much and was unsuccessfull in finding a worthy recipe, but this one is wonderful! Tastes just like it did when we had them for school breakfast and at many dine-ins. Great Job! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Baham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States