Beginner Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
A WINNER! I used chicken thighs only and added potatoes and carrots. I also skipped the soup and used my own broth and gravy. I seasoned with some parsley and marjoram. It was a WINNER for us! Thank you heatherg for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Don't turn over the dumplings! just 10 min lid on 10 min lid off Perfect! Not your "old style" Chicken and Dumplings but, very good! If you don't like using can soup, do your own with stock and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Great recipe for someone making dumplings for the first time. This tasted great! Will add vegtables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I loved this it was very easy. I also added vegtables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ya Ya
Home Town: Wurtsboro, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Thank you very much! My Grandma makes the best Chicken and Dumplings and this can almost stand up. Great starter!! I made my own broth and "gravy". I also serve with collard greens and lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrama1
Home Town: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very good! I have never made chicken and dumplings before and this recipe was easy and tastes great! Only thing I would change is dropping the bisquick mixture by the spoonful made the dumplings too big for my taste. I will make them smaller next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Wow! We all loved this, and it was easy to prepare on a week night. I used 3 large chicken breasts and omitted the thighs. Had to substitute cream of celery for the chicken. Tasted great. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
"Beginner" ?? The taste sure isnt! I continue to learn that many of the simplest recipes are the best. The dark meat of the thighs make a difference as they add to the flavour. In addition to dumplings I sometimes prepared egg noodles for those who like it served that way and frequently because the dumplings tend to disappear so fast! A very good recipe! More thoughts: To economise I've bought skin on bone in chicken (big $ difference). Using an oven & stovetop safe pot, the chicken can then be roasted in the oven at 350-375 degrees for approximately 30-40 minutes. Once cooled the skin & bones are easily removed. Any excess fat can be spooned off and the cooked crispy bits in the pot's bottom will add to the favour. At this point carry on as directed, perhaps choosing to omit the butter as the only change. Healthorg's recipe is delicious as posted but I'm finding with the price of ready prepped chicken so dear, this can be a savings option by slightly altering only the method. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These chicken and dumplings are awesome, just like my Grandma used to make. Big, fluffy dumplings can't be beat compared to those egg noodles, not a fan of those here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by splendid*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this for my twin 5 year old nieces and they loved it so much that one said, "Auntie, you are the best cooker in the whole wide world!" I used a 15oz can of biscuits and put only 11oz in the soup and saved the other 5oz as biscuit strips for the side. My nieces really enjoyed the different consistencies of the biscuits - wet and somewhat gummy, and the dry. Really easy to make and a great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Jeffries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States