Beginner Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Don't turn over the dumplings! just 10 min lid on 10 min lid off Perfect! Not your "old style" Chicken and Dumplings but, very good! If you don't like using can soup, do your own with stock and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Great recipe for someone making dumplings for the first time. This tasted great! Will add vegtables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
"Beginner" ?? The taste sure isnt! I continue to learn that many of the simplest recipes are the best. The dark meat of the thighs make a difference as they add to the flavour. In addition to dumplings I sometimes prepared egg noodles for those who like it served that way and frequently because the dumplings tend to disappear so fast! A very good recipe! More thoughts: To economise I've bought skin on bone in chicken (big $ difference). Using an oven & stovetop safe pot, the chicken can then be roasted in the oven at 350-375 degrees for approximately 30-40 minutes. Once cooled the skin & bones are easily removed. Any excess fat can be spooned off and the cooked crispy bits in the pot's bottom will add to the favour. At this point carry on as directed, perhaps choosing to omit the butter as the only change. Healthorg's recipe is delicious as posted but I'm finding with the price of ready prepped chicken so dear, this can be a savings option by slightly altering only the method. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious!! I substituted the the water and poultry seasoning with 6 cups of chicken stock. In also used a rotisserie chicken instead of cooking my own. My husband likes lots of dumplings so I made a double batch of dumplings. But it was so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Thank you very much! My Grandma makes the best Chicken and Dumplings and this can almost stand up. Great starter!! I made my own broth and "gravy". I also serve with collard greens and lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harrama1
Home Town: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I am an intermediate cook,not a pro,not a culinary chef,and here's my take on chicken n dumplings for a beginner;I usually use thighs but any part will do.Boil chicken in water that covers pieces,use as many as you choose depending on how much you want.Boil for at least an hour and up to 1 hour and 15 min.Set pieces aside to cool.Drain all broth through strainer into another pot then bring to a boil again.Add whatever seasonings you choose at this point.I use a little of each of sage,garlic,poultry seasoning-if I have it,salt and pepper.At boiling add dumplings either from scratch flour or use canned biscuits and cut each biscuit into fourths.Turn fire down to a med-simmer until dumplings swell.Continue another 20 min or so until broth thickens some.Pull chicken off bones chop into smaller chunks and add to mixture.Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Wow! We all loved this, and it was easy to prepare on a week night. I used 3 large chicken breasts and omitted the thighs. Had to substitute cream of celery for the chicken. Tasted great. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very good! I have never made chicken and dumplings before and this recipe was easy and tastes great! Only thing I would change is dropping the bisquick mixture by the spoonful made the dumplings too big for my taste. I will make them smaller next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was delicious and easy. I used onion powder and chicken broth instead of bullion cubs ans water and all boneless chicken breasts instead of thighs. I added in a couple of stalks of cut celery instead of fresh onion and tossed in some frozen carrots and peas just before adding the dumplings on top. I wanted the broth creamier so I added another can of soup. Don't turn the dumplings over, I never have in any recipe and they always turn out fine without it. Use a large pan though as the dumplings rise a lot and they need to room to expand. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
A WINNER! I used chicken thighs only and added potatoes and carrots. I also skipped the soup and used my own broth and gravy. I seasoned with some parsley and marjoram. It was a WINNER for us! Thank you heatherg for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States