Beginner Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was delicious and easy. I used onion powder and chicken broth instead of bullion cubs ans water and all boneless chicken breasts instead of thighs. I added in a couple of stalks of cut celery instead of fresh onion and tossed in some frozen carrots and peas just before adding the dumplings on top. I wanted the broth creamier so I added another can of soup. Don't turn the dumplings over, I never have in any recipe and they always turn out fine without it. Use a large pan though as the dumplings rise a lot and they need to room to expand. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Turned out very good. My husband and his buddy really liked it. I only used chicken thighs and I added some red peppers and mixed veggies to it. Didn't use the poultry seasoning; substituted basil, parsley and some fresh chopped garlic. One thing, the dumplings turned out too soft. I don't know why??? Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this for my twin 5 year old nieces and they loved it so much that one said, "Auntie, you are the best cooker in the whole wide world!" I used a 15oz can of biscuits and put only 11oz in the soup and saved the other 5oz as biscuit strips for the side. My nieces really enjoyed the different consistencies of the biscuits - wet and somewhat gummy, and the dry. Really easy to make and a great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Jeffries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Added garlic and celery to they onion and butter and only used chicken breast and it was so easy and good. We also added carrots and lots of black pepper. Amazing quick night dinner everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHarper
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Boiled some potatos, carrots and celery in 3 cups of water with two tsp chicken bouillon. When slightly soft added it to the pot with the chicken and onions, (only used boneless skinless thigh fillets cubed)and then added the cream of chicken soup.Will use less water next time, had to thicken with a bit of flour. Did not flip the dumplings just put the cover on for 20 minutes and they came out perfect. Husband said this dish was pretty close to what his grandma used to make therefore only 4 stars. I will make again because it is an easy week night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHarper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I am an intermediate cook,not a pro,not a culinary chef,and here's my take on chicken n dumplings for a beginner;I usually use thighs but any part will do.Boil chicken in water that covers pieces,use as many as you choose depending on how much you want.Boil for at least an hour and up to 1 hour and 15 min.Set pieces aside to cool.Drain all broth through strainer into another pot then bring to a boil again.Add whatever seasonings you choose at this point.I use a little of each of sage,garlic,poultry seasoning-if I have it,salt and pepper.At boiling add dumplings either from scratch flour or use canned biscuits and cut each biscuit into fourths.Turn fire down to a med-simmer until dumplings swell.Continue another 20 min or so until broth thickens some.Pull chicken off bones chop into smaller chunks and add to mixture.Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These chicken and dumplings are awesome, just like my Grandma used to make. Big, fluffy dumplings can't be beat compared to those egg noodles, not a fan of those here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by splendid*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
A WINNER! I used chicken thighs only and added potatoes and carrots. I also skipped the soup and used my own broth and gravy. I seasoned with some parsley and marjoram. It was a WINNER for us! Thank you heatherg for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
"Beginner" ?? The taste sure isnt! I continue to learn that many of the simplest recipes are the best. The dark meat of the thighs make a difference as they add to the flavour. In addition to dumplings I sometimes prepared egg noodles for those who like it served that way and frequently because the dumplings tend to disappear so fast! A very good recipe! More thoughts: To economise I've bought skin on bone in chicken (big $ difference). Using an oven & stovetop safe pot, the chicken can then be roasted in the oven at 350-375 degrees for approximately 30-40 minutes. Once cooled the skin & bones are easily removed. Any excess fat can be spooned off and the cooked crispy bits in the pot's bottom will add to the favour. At this point carry on as directed, perhaps choosing to omit the butter as the only change. Healthorg's recipe is delicious as posted but I'm finding with the price of ready prepped chicken so dear, this can be a savings option by slightly altering only the method. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Omgggg Supper good and easy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States