Beginner Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was so easy and awesome! I added garlic and lots of salt and pepper. Omitted peas and used celery instead. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Dumpling batter was too thin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Used this as recipe for cooking chicken and dumplings for the first time. Wife loves them, but we omitted the onion due to taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Very good recipe. When I first mixed the dumplings the mixture was very thin, like cake batter so I threw it out. I mixed up a second batch of batter and very gently stirred and it turned out more like dough. I guess I was just beating it too hard the first time. Make the dumplings small to make sure they are cooked through. I cooked mine 20 minutes with the lid on and 20 minutes with it off and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Made this even more flavorful by using the juices from a whole roasted chicken instead of bouillon and water. Baked at 375 for 35 minutes instead of on stove. Thanks for a great basic recipe I'll keep around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I made this for me and my husband tonight for dinner, and it was so simple! While it was time consuming because I added more vegetables, we both really enjoyed it. And if I can make it, anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amprice

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
add peas carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This was delicious and easy. I used onion powder and chicken broth instead of bullion cubs ans water and all boneless chicken breasts instead of thighs. I added in a couple of stalks of cut celery instead of fresh onion and tossed in some frozen carrots and peas just before adding the dumplings on top. I wanted the broth creamier so I added another can of soup. Don't turn the dumplings over, I never have in any recipe and they always turn out fine without it. Use a large pan though as the dumplings rise a lot and they need to room to expand. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Turned out very good. My husband and his buddy really liked it. I only used chicken thighs and I added some red peppers and mixed veggies to it. Didn't use the poultry seasoning; substituted basil, parsley and some fresh chopped garlic. One thing, the dumplings turned out too soft. I don't know why??? Still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this for my twin 5 year old nieces and they loved it so much that one said, "Auntie, you are the best cooker in the whole wide world!" I used a 15oz can of biscuits and put only 11oz in the soup and saved the other 5oz as biscuit strips for the side. My nieces really enjoyed the different consistencies of the biscuits - wet and somewhat gummy, and the dry. Really easy to make and a great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Jeffries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States