Beghrir (Moroccan Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
My husband is Moroccan and when we were first together, I made this recipe without realizing what a big deal it was. Let me tell you, the look on his face was priceless and he said they tasted just like his mothers...a huge compliment. Since then, I've made these numerous times and I've also eaten them in Morocco. This recipe is perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
These were amazing! I didn't have the time to make the orange flower water so I made the sauce with raw honey, butter and a touch of vanilla extract then served the pancakes with fresh berries....delicious!!!! Better then regular pancakes anyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I'm sorry, this didn't turn out so great. I love the idea of the holey tops but couldn't get passed texture. I only made 2 just to try, then made the rest as crepes to use up the batter because I don't want it to go to waste. I'm sure there's potential in this recipe with minor tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I was so excited to try this. I ate these in a B&B in Morocco 3 years ago and have been "craving" them since. Although the spongy texture was right with all the little bubbles, the taste was not-so-great. If I make it again, I will add more sugar to the batter and see if that helps at all. All the same, thank you for sharing this exotic wisdom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Wow! These are tasty, beautiful, and fun. I made these as written, except that I omitted the orange-flower water from the sauce (I didn't have it in the house). The only change I would make next time is to cut the salt just a tad. My 2-year-old loved watching the lacy pattern emerge (though he was not quite so enthusiastic about the taste as I was).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This recipe was great, I wanted something interesting for Christmas morning and this was it. Came out exactly like the picture and it makes a ton. The syrup was also very different, far from maple but better for it. I had no trouble finding seminola flour, it is pricey but was sitting right there in the baking aisle. Overall definitely a recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Anytime a recipe asks for semolina, you can use farina/cream of wheat, I was told there is no difference.. But since it asks for semolina flour (which is more ground), beware that using cow will make a slight difference since it's coarser. Haven't tried it with these pancakes but I have been looking for unique ways to eat my COW for breakfast, so glad I stumbled on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I could not find Semolina anywhere so I just used two cups of all-purpose flour. They turned out ok. not quite as "airy" as I have had before, but not bad. You have to adjust the temperature on the stove a lot considering that you don't flip these and you can really taste any dark/burnt spots. I have had a lot of Moroccan food and am very excited to be able to learn how to cook it myself. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States