Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
I read the reviews for this soup and could hardly wait to make it, but upon making it, I found it medicore. It was fine, but not wonderful. Also a hint for the cook that found her beans were hard. All beans must be cooked to the soft stage before adding any acid (tomato, vinegar, molasses). Once the acidic food is added, the beans will no longer soften, no matter how long they are cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
Love love love it. So easy to make. I cheated and used 2 cans of black beans so I didn't have to go through the soaking process, and I forgot to get the can of tomatos, so I added a bit of ketchup for flavor. And since I used the canned beans, I added about a 1/4-1/2 cup water to get the right consistancy. To spice it up a little more, I added about 1 1/2 t of dry mustard and 1 t of backstrap molasses. Cooked for 3 hrs on HIGH. Turn out WONDERFUL. I will def be making this again, when in the chill mood. YUM YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Seriously very good. I made it differently on the stove top, I really just wanted the recipe for the spices. I used 1 can of black, 1 can northern, 1 can pinto and I pureed an extra can of black beans. I sauteed the veggies first, then added the can of tomatoes, juice and all, and then the lentils. I added the beans and then like 3 cups of broth. I let that simmer and then I added the spices. It's simmering now and I will put the rice in soon. I can't stop sneaking tastes!! Make this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Finally, a soup worthy of my large crock pot! I loved this. Made the following changes: substituted 2 tbsp basil for the chili powder, added 1 tsp molasses, used 3/4 tsp garlic powder instead of fresh for convenience, only one green pepper, and no jalapeno. Even pureeing half of it left a pretty chunky, very satisfying soup. Makes a LOT! Served with a dollop of sour cream. Important note: RICE REQUIRED 2 HOURS OF COOKING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This is probably the best black bean soup I have made on here. I definitely reccomend using veggie or chicken broth in place of water. I halved the recipe and it still made around 6 generous servings. However, in halving it, I still did 1 full carrot, 1 full (but not large) sweet onion, and 1 stalk of celery. I also did an extra tbsp. worth of red lentils because 1/8 cup hardly seemed worth it. The rice, I also kept at a 1/2 cup. It took a bit longer than 20 minutes to cook-- more like 35, really. I was out of cumin, so I used cilantro. Overall, this was delicious. I had no trouble with the beans softening up and I followed the directions listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I used the ingredients as listed and was pleased by the flavor. I chose not to puree as I prefer it chunky. This took me about 10 hours to cook, the rice definitely needs more than 20 minutes. I think I will cut back on the black beans next time, there was a spoonful in ever scoop. The soup reminds me a little of chili due to the flavor and texture. I served this as a meal with homemade jalapeno cheese bread (corn bread with the leftovers). This makes enough to feed an army!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This soup was quite tasty (I substituted 1 pt. of chicken stock in for 1 pt. of the water), but I thought it was quite fiddly and not good as a crockpot recipe. The soaking and boiling of the beans ahead of time, adding the veggies partway through the cooking, all took away from the ease of throwing everything in the crockpot and leaving it all day. I'd rather just cook everything on the stove and have it done quicker. I will likely make the soup again, but will do it all on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This is delicious. I also added 2 T. of molasses. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
One of the best black bean & rice soup recipes I've tried so far. As has been stated before, the rice will need much longer than the 20 minutes stated. I found it took almost 2 hours for the rice to fully cook. So adjust accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This soup was yummy, easy to prepare, and lots for leftovers. I almost didn't puree it like the directions said; glad I did as it gave a thickness to the soup that was nice. My crockpot was not large enough to accomodate the volume this makes so I had to finish it off in a Dutch oven on the stove, which didn't hurt at all. As we like our food pretty highly flavored, we had to add herbs at the table which brought it up to snuff for us. We have no kids so couldn't rate that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURALEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States