Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Great, easy to make, good hearty fall meal. I did soak beans overnight like others did. I also used half the amount of beans and it still made a ton, at least 6 good size servings. Also added a little masa harina at the end to thicken it up, which made it more of a chili-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
this was a hit with my whole family. I used a lot of the other suggestions, which I think really helped. I soaked the beans overnight and then cooked them separetely. They were done before I even put them in the crockpot. Left out the celery and the rice, used white instead of red onion, chipotle powder instead of jalapenos, doubled the lentils and threw in some chopped spinach at the end. Will definately make again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I omitted the jalapenos b/c I do not like them and I omitted bell pepper becuase I do not have it. I also reduced the beans - again what I had. A lot of flavor - probably less so with the right amount of beans. I also used brown rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I thought this soup was delicious, but my husband didn't like it at all, he said it had a gritty texture to it. It took much longer than suggested to cook, I set mine for 5 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This recipe was terrible! Cooking time is way off, flavour is lacking in originality. This soup is nothing more than watery vegetarian chilli. Definitly will not do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
Delicious soup, and easy to prepare. I added some diced ham when I added the vegetables. I found that the rice needed more than 20 minutes to cook though. I will probably reduce the jalepeno a little next time as it was a little too much for my son, although we loved it as is! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I have made this soup many times, and since it is one of our favorites I can't believe that I haven't yet rated this recipe the 5 stars that it definitely deserves. Sometimes I add chicken or smoked sausage, or substitute rice for the lentils...no matter what, this recipe turns out great. Thank you, Beezie, my family really enjoys this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This is probably the best black bean soup I have made on here. I definitely reccomend using veggie or chicken broth in place of water. I halved the recipe and it still made around 6 generous servings. However, in halving it, I still did 1 full carrot, 1 full (but not large) sweet onion, and 1 stalk of celery. I also did an extra tbsp. worth of red lentils because 1/8 cup hardly seemed worth it. The rice, I also kept at a 1/2 cup. It took a bit longer than 20 minutes to cook-- more like 35, really. I was out of cumin, so I used cilantro. Overall, this was delicious. I had no trouble with the beans softening up and I followed the directions listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was flavorful, plentiful, and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I found the soup to be boring. The soup lacked depth of flavor. Followed the written recipe. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States