Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I served this thick soup over baked potatoes with sour cream and some cheddar cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
We've gotten hooked on this and make it all the time. Great spicing! Only quibble: I've found that cooking for about 8 hours (overnight) is required to make the beans tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This soup is fabulous!! I make is often and have shared it with many who also love it. I use 2 29oz canned black beans to speed up the process. Also I only use 1 tbl chili powder and substitue 1 sm can green chili's for the jalapeno. We garnish with avacado's and sour cream. It's a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
It tasted like the filling of a stuffed green pepper. Also the ground pepper over powered the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Simple to make and delicious to eat, I followed the recipe step by step and am most pleased with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This recipe is a lot of work for what you get. I was not impressed but it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This bean soup was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
The first time I made this it was for a work potluck. I got a ton of compliments. I change a few things though. I don't use either the jalapeno or the green peppers, I use less than half the salt, and for convenience I use dried, chopped onions. If you use uncooked regular rice, the rice will take far longer than 20 minutes to cook. 20 minutes might be long enough for quick rice or you could use rice that had already been cooked. I've heard that cooking the rice separately before adding it to a soup helps keep it from turning into mush. Oh and I don't always bother to puree the soup. It's great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I wanted to give this 5 stars for flavor, but it was just such a hassle to make. Next time I'll either do the whole thing on the stove or maybe just toss it all in the crock pot on low all day and see how it goes. Anyway, I doubled the carrots, celery, and lentils, halved the onion, garlic, and cumin, and omitted the rice (it was a time issue). I added a bit of cilantro, and I squeezed a fresh lime into the pot at the end. I served it with some sliced avocado. I pureed most of the black beans in the blender towards the end of cooking, which helped their still-firm texture. I found that my beans needed a lot more cooking on the stovetop before they were ready for the crock pot, and even then they never got as soft as they should have. With a little adapting, this soup was really tasty- but as I said, if I can't find a way to make it easier, I'll be going back to my good old standards. (hint: Black Bean and Salsa Soup from this site is absolutely amazing and far easier.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This is a good change from the normal pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: ???, Norfolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States