Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This was a HUGE amount of food. We had tons left-over. I have really been into black bean soup lately, but this was not one of the best. It needed more pepper and a dash of hot sauce. I hate when I feel like I have to add quite a bit of hot sauce to make food taste good and that was the case with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
this is my new favorite soup and bean recipe. we made it for sunday dinner per the instructions. everyone loved it. spicy but not too hot. five big cajun stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I really like this recipe. It's cheap, healthy and good. I have made it multiple times exactly as the recipe states. I cook it in the crockpot and puree it a bit with a stick blender for a few seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I thought the recipes needed a bit more spice. By substituting 1 habanero and 1 dried chipotle pepper in place of the fresh jalepenos, I found that I could get the amount of spice I enjoyed. Overall though, this recipe is easy and delicious. I use the leftovers in place of a side of refried beans in other mexican inspired dishes. The recipe is cheap and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Bayless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I have made it at least 10 times, never the same twice! I use canned black beans, substituting the liquid from the cans for part of the water. This causes the soup to be thick and full of flavor. I have found that the end product is delicious served like a chili, on wheat noodles or rice, with cheese on top, and that it is delicious spicy or not spicy, using two green peppers or one hot pepper and one green. Thank you for submitting this delicious, healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
After looking for a veggie-heavy crockpot dish on here, I was really excited to try this one out. I must say it did not disappoint! Very good all around healthy recipe. As recommended by several reviewers, I used chicken broth instead of water (16oz.) and basil instead of cumin; I thought the cumin would be too strong. I also may have used more rice than recommended because it came out more like a jambalaya than a "soup", per se, but I am happy with the texture. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is that I feel like the flavors kind of blend together too much and a lot of the individual character is lost. Still, I will make this again as long as my fiancee enjoys it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Easy and good! Next time I will use 1/2 the amount of black beans. I didn't puree 1/2 of the beans but added extra rice (I used wild rice). This made the soup very, very thick which I like. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Wonderful taste and smell! I think the vinegar really "made" this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I had dry lentils,rice and black beans to use for dinner...and this was a perfect recipe! I only added what I had on hand (bell pepper, garlic, onion & tomatoes) and with the seasonings...it was delicious! Not a soup consistency...more chili/rice and beans. Very flavorful and great with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia693

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was quite a nice soup. My family likes it spicier so I doubled the spices. Combining the rice, beans, and lentils makes it a very nutritious soup. I like to saute the vegetables ahead, which makes it more caloric, but I made it the way it was written and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States