Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is a staple in our family!! We freeze the leftovers for quick, easy meals. Just be sure the beans are soft before you add the acid ingredients. Otherwise, you'll have trouble getting them to soften up! (3.5 hours is perfect on my crock pot, but others might be different!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
While this soup is tasty, I only give it 3 stars because the rice DOES NOT cook in any 20 minutes. I followed other posters' advice and put the tomatoes and vinegar in after the beans had been in for 5 hours and the rice in for 2. After the rice had been cooking for 4.5 hours, I gave up and we ate it with crunchy rice. I don't know if the vinegar had some effect on the rice, but it did not cook. My recommendation would either be to leave the rice out (you don't really need it) or cook it on the stove and add it at the end. I also threw in a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, which gave it a nice smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
really good, but I would start with less vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Great recipe. Easy to make. I made it in half and it was enough for 4 adults for a meal. Served with homemade corn tortilla chips. I threw everything in the crockpot and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe got great reviews from everyone. I made instant rice separate from the soup and added it to the soup when it was almost done. Other than that, I stuck pretty close to the recipe. It wasn't as spicy as I would have liked. Four stars because it took too much work to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
We used brown rice instead of white. We also added a little bit of spinach for a twist. If you use brown rice, cook on high for three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was really good. My boyfriend, who isn't a fan of soups or stews, liked this one. My only variance from the recipe was to cook it on the stove, use 1/2 pinto and 1/2 black beans (all I had on hand), chicken and veggie stock instead of water, red pepper instead of green (the green gives me heartburn) and halved the cumin. Oh, and I used more liquid because I wanted a soup instead of a thicker chili texture. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Excellent. I felt like it was more of a chili than a soup, though. I may try blending JUST the black beans after they're done cooking but prior to adding the other ingredients. Just looking for a little more black bean flavor. So good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Okay folks, listen up. I arrogantly added the tomatoes at the beginning even thought the actual recipe plus many, many reviewers said to add them at the end. Well I have cooked the soup on low for 10 hours and on high for 3 hours and the beans ARE STILL HARD! The flavor of the soup is amazing so I am very sad that after 13 hours I still have soup I can't eat. I gave it 5 stars because I can tell that it would have been wonderful if I just followed the dang directions. Next time I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Absolutely the BEST black bean soup I have ever made. I only made a few minor modifications based on what I had available. Instead of putting the beans in the crockpot after cooking with water, I used vegetable stock. When I added the vegetables (carrots, onions, 1 yellow pepper, 2 stalks celery, garlic, and a can of chopped green chiles) and lentils, I did NOT add the tomatoes or vinegar based on the advice of prior reviews. I used chipotle chili powder and red pepper flakes in addition to the other seasonings. For the last hour, I turned the heat back up to high and added brown rice, tomatoes (2 cans fire roasted tomatoes with garlic), and the red wine vinegar. The result was a soup, but when I pureed half with a stick blender and added it back into the crockpot - well, WOW! This made it so much better. This was so good and had such depth of flavor, I don't think I have ever tasted a better soup anywhere. This is my new favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States