Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was flavorful, plentiful, and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I found the soup to be boring. The soup lacked depth of flavor. Followed the written recipe. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was good, but not what i was expecting, so slightly disapointed. I will now equate this recipe with Vegetarian Chili. In addition i had trouble with the beans softening, despite soaking overnight, and because i had to cook so long, the rice wasn't even visible anymore. Good flavor overall, but would probably try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This recipe is OK... nothing spectacular. It's pretty spicy and lacks flavor. Next time I would use one jalapeno. I even made this with vegetable broth to attempt to give the flavor some more depth, but it didn't seem to help very much. I added some olive oil to it and also some other spices. I think sauteing the onions and garlic in olive oil before adding them to the pot would help with the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vonteity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This was really yummy. I added some frozen corn and an extra can of tomatoes and the juice of one lime. I served it with cornbread and it was de-lish! I had trouble with the beans popping open when I soaked them so I just blended those and added some canned beans unblended. Next time i will not soak them and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This soup was quite tasty (I substituted 1 pt. of chicken stock in for 1 pt. of the water), but I thought it was quite fiddly and not good as a crockpot recipe. The soaking and boiling of the beans ahead of time, adding the veggies partway through the cooking, all took away from the ease of throwing everything in the crockpot and leaving it all day. I'd rather just cook everything on the stove and have it done quicker. I will likely make the soup again, but will do it all on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Excellent soup. I add a little ground pork. If you want to kick it up a nouch add a few pinto beans some chille powder and you have a great chile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Great flavor, but I wholeheartedly agree that the bean cooking instructions were WAY off. I soaked my beans overnight, THEN boiled them for 30 minutes -- and they were still a tad underdone. Make sure your beans are done to your liking first then move forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNPATEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
We did not like this soup at all. The flavor did not appeal to us, and it took forever for the beans to get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States