Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
EXCELENT I ADDED HALF THE SPICES FOR MY CHILDRENS SAKE IT WAS STILL SPICY BUT VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
this soup went over like charm with my guests. Not to mention all those beans are great for your health. I added a little maple syrup to sweeten it a bit and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
ABSOLUTELY THE "BEST" BLACK BEAN SOUP EVER. I DIDN'T HAVE TO CHANGE A THING..GETS BETTER WITH AGE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Even my husband, a confirmed meat-and-potatoes guy, loved this. I didn't include the lentils, only because I forgot to buy them, but it made no difference. This was a good, hearty, healthy and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This was a very good soup. The rice needed to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Delicious and hearty soup. I made a few changes. I used brown rice instead of white and I pureed the whole soup and topped with parmesan cheese. I think this is a great soup for a party, it can be made ahead and kept warm in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Easy and awesome! Plus lots of leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
Love love love it. So easy to make. I cheated and used 2 cans of black beans so I didn't have to go through the soaking process, and I forgot to get the can of tomatos, so I added a bit of ketchup for flavor. And since I used the canned beans, I added about a 1/4-1/2 cup water to get the right consistancy. To spice it up a little more, I added about 1 1/2 t of dry mustard and 1 t of backstrap molasses. Cooked for 3 hrs on HIGH. Turn out WONDERFUL. I will def be making this again, when in the chill mood. YUM YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This is delicious. I also added 2 T. of molasses. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I used the ingredients as listed and was pleased by the flavor. I chose not to puree as I prefer it chunky. This took me about 10 hours to cook, the rice definitely needs more than 20 minutes. I think I will cut back on the black beans next time, there was a spoonful in ever scoop. The soup reminds me a little of chili due to the flavor and texture. I served this as a meal with homemade jalapeno cheese bread (corn bread with the leftovers). This makes enough to feed an army!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States