Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This is delicious. I also added 2 T. of molasses. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
Love love love it. So easy to make. I cheated and used 2 cans of black beans so I didn't have to go through the soaking process, and I forgot to get the can of tomatos, so I added a bit of ketchup for flavor. And since I used the canned beans, I added about a 1/4-1/2 cup water to get the right consistancy. To spice it up a little more, I added about 1 1/2 t of dry mustard and 1 t of backstrap molasses. Cooked for 3 hrs on HIGH. Turn out WONDERFUL. I will def be making this again, when in the chill mood. YUM YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I used the ingredients as listed and was pleased by the flavor. I chose not to puree as I prefer it chunky. This took me about 10 hours to cook, the rice definitely needs more than 20 minutes. I think I will cut back on the black beans next time, there was a spoonful in ever scoop. The soup reminds me a little of chili due to the flavor and texture. I served this as a meal with homemade jalapeno cheese bread (corn bread with the leftovers). This makes enough to feed an army!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
Delicious and hearty soup. I made a few changes. I used brown rice instead of white and I pureed the whole soup and topped with parmesan cheese. I think this is a great soup for a party, it can be made ahead and kept warm in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
EXCELENT I ADDED HALF THE SPICES FOR MY CHILDRENS SAKE IT WAS STILL SPICY BUT VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
ABSOLUTELY THE "BEST" BLACK BEAN SOUP EVER. I DIDN'T HAVE TO CHANGE A THING..GETS BETTER WITH AGE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This was a very good soup. The rice needed to cook longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
this soup went over like charm with my guests. Not to mention all those beans are great for your health. I added a little maple syrup to sweeten it a bit and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Easy and awesome! Plus lots of leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Even my husband, a confirmed meat-and-potatoes guy, loved this. I didn't include the lentils, only because I forgot to buy them, but it made no difference. This was a good, hearty, healthy and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States