Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
My husband and I LOVED this soup but it was a bit too spicy for the kids. They were just as happy with chicken noodle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
The soup was good, but reminded me of a vegetarian chili more than a black bean soup. I loved the spices! Good for cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Ambrose-Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
this is delicious, but it is more like a chili. i made it with cornbread and some turnip greens m/with mustard greens and it was good to go!!! i did add a little more salt, cumin, and chili powder, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Great recipe. Second pot is cooking now. Planning to put part of this one in the freezer, if there is any left. Just wish my kids would eat things that are mixed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This soup was yummy, easy to prepare, and lots for leftovers. I almost didn't puree it like the directions said; glad I did as it gave a thickness to the soup that was nice. My crockpot was not large enough to accomodate the volume this makes so I had to finish it off in a Dutch oven on the stove, which didn't hurt at all. As we like our food pretty highly flavored, we had to add herbs at the table which brought it up to snuff for us. We have no kids so couldn't rate that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURALEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
Love love love it. So easy to make. I cheated and used 2 cans of black beans so I didn't have to go through the soaking process, and I forgot to get the can of tomatos, so I added a bit of ketchup for flavor. And since I used the canned beans, I added about a 1/4-1/2 cup water to get the right consistancy. To spice it up a little more, I added about 1 1/2 t of dry mustard and 1 t of backstrap molasses. Cooked for 3 hrs on HIGH. Turn out WONDERFUL. I will def be making this again, when in the chill mood. YUM YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
This is delicious. I also added 2 T. of molasses. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
I used the ingredients as listed and was pleased by the flavor. I chose not to puree as I prefer it chunky. This took me about 10 hours to cook, the rice definitely needs more than 20 minutes. I think I will cut back on the black beans next time, there was a spoonful in ever scoop. The soup reminds me a little of chili due to the flavor and texture. I served this as a meal with homemade jalapeno cheese bread (corn bread with the leftovers). This makes enough to feed an army!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
EXCELENT I ADDED HALF THE SPICES FOR MY CHILDRENS SAKE IT WAS STILL SPICY BUT VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
ABSOLUTELY THE "BEST" BLACK BEAN SOUP EVER. I DIDN'T HAVE TO CHANGE A THING..GETS BETTER WITH AGE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States