Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
instead of using 1 pound of black beans- i used a mix of black beans, kidney beans, and garbanzo beans. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I would say this is more like thick chili than a soup, but it is amazing anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
If using Basmati white rice, you might want to use less than what the recipe calls for. Mine turned out as moist rice and beans rather than a soup. Also, I had to add extra spices and grate some cheddar cheese on top because I didn't find the recipe to be very flavorful on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahDietitian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup and so did my husband. It made a lot, too much for the two of us, so we froze half of it. We added cheddar and sour cream just before serving and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Flavorful and healthy with almost no bad stuff (see nutritional info). Made lots and lots of leftovers which we shared and our family loved. Next time I will be adding more spices, maybe another jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mythuntold
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My roommate said the soup was hearty and savory, perfect for a winter night. She was utterly satisfied by it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mythuntold
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Yum :) I left out the lentils and toned down on the garlic (which is a first...ha), but I think I followed otherwise as written. A good base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
This soup is amazing! I just had two bowls and I'm looking forward to making it again. Here are my suggestions: Buy ready to go black beans. Soaking them and then putting them in the crock pot really isn't worth the time and added effort. Instead of lentils I added a can of kidney beans (just had them in the pantry). I didn't add the .28oz of tomatoes because my crockpot is too small. So instead I added a bit of ketchup, mustard and syrup. I also only put 4 cloves of garlic since garlic likes me a little too much! I served with corn bread and a little sour cream on top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caressa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was a lovely, filling soup. I added extra garlic and spices, which is more to our tastes. I also used red peppers, and extra beans. Perfect with buttered sourdough bread or cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I adore this recipe! It is filling, warm, and full of excellent flavors. It is pretty spicy, so I like to tone it down with a dollop of sour cream and sometimes jack or cheddar cheese. My husband and I dislike lentils so I double the amount of rice. This soup also freezes well and keeps in the refridgerator for days. If you don't plan on using it all the first sitting, however, I suggest cooking the rice separately and adding it when you reheat the soup so it doesn't get soggy. It's a bit of extra effort but well worth it for the quality leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
i dont have a blender, so i couldnt do this last step, which (after sticking it in the fridge overnight)makes it a delicious dip! 2 meals in one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States