Beezie's Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I've never met a bowl of black bean soup I didn't love from Cuban style to Laurie Colwin's version. It can be tasty with a few ingredients or many. I usually make a simple version. Beezie's version is ACE! I plan to make it again for my Neigbourhood Lunch Social . (It's a group of eight retired women who defy the long Canadian winter by meeting over a bowl of home-made soup at lunch time.) Add an interesting bread, perhaps a hunk of cheese and fresh fruit and there's a 'souper magnifique'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very good recipe! I followed advice and used two carrots, two pieces of celery, one cup lentils and half water/half stock. I also used canned black beans and rinsed them off insted of cooking them. It took about 3.5 hours on high to cook the lentils/carrots/celery, but turned out yummy yummy! I also used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I'm pretty lazy, so I used 2 cans of black beans. I also made it on the stove and used 2 cups of chicken stock, 1/2 lb. scrambled hot turkey sausage, 1/2 onion and 1/2 pepper, no lentils. Lastly I added a T. plus a t. of molasses-- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
It was delicious! As others have pointed out, it is a little labor-intensive for a "crock-pot recipe" which was kind of tough to manage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
overall flavor was great. The black beans didn't get as soft as they should. I would cook the beans completely before adding them to the crockpot next time. It might be easier to cook the beans thoroughly the day before and then toss it all in the crockpot the next day and let it cook while I am at work to blend the flavors. Was wonderful with fresh cilantro,cheese and sourcream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
a little bland, but if you are looking to cleanse your "system" this soup will do it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
very good! It took an additional hour for my beans to get soft in the crockpot. I also used chicken broth instead of water and added a can of diced chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I love this soup! Now I did make some changes- mainly bc I had a nice hambone leftover from Christmas. I cooked it on low with just the ham bone, black beans and chicken broth (3 tblsp of chicken base and water) for 3 hours. Then I added the rest of the ingredients and cooked for another 2 hours. The beans were perfect- no need to puree them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Stark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I was really torn on how to rate this. I followed the recipe exactly except for not using rice and I added a small amount of turkey ham. I should have listened to one of the most helpful reviews that said something about if you add tomatoes/acid to beans before they are cooked,they won't get tender. I had this on for almost 9 hours and the beans were still not soft enough. The FLAVORS were good, and I will make this again, but I won't add the vinegar or the tomatoes until the end. Made that way, I am sure this would be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Wonderful recipe! It is easily modified when cleaning out your refrigerator...be creative! I added some leftover mexi-corn, a red pepper, and forgot the rice, but this recipe is so tasty no matter what! I made extra and freezed it...it will be wonderful pureed into a sauce over cheese enchiladas. I plan to make again and again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericablueeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States