Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
They tasted really good, and I hate beets. My husband almost threw up though, but he detests beets... I made him try it to set a good example for our 3 year old. Our 1 year old LOVES them!!! The longer you simmer them, the better they taste. I made them an hour ahead of time, and just warmed them up, and they were better than when I first cooked them. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
If you MUST eat beets, this is the way to go. It seems I went temporarily insane while at the grocery and picked up a can of beets. But, after desperately searching for a recipe that would make beets NOT taste like beets, I found it! I went a little heavy on the apple. :) hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I loved this recipe. The color of the dish is so beautiful to compliment a holiday meal. The sauce thickens up nicely and the flavors are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I enjoy beets but have never cooked them myself. I made this recipe and it turned out delicious. I threw in a handful of chopped walnuts and pecans at the end just to add some crunch and it tastes pretty great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was a fun recipe to start with, I challenged myself to run w/ fresh beets but kept the concept beyond that all Michele's - very innovative and fresh - I'd have never experimented w/ Beets and Apples had it not been for this post - Thanks Michele - you created a challenge for me w/o knowing it!!! ~Jeff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff_Belmont

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Good...for beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dailycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
substituted fresh peach for apple & slow-cooked with all the juice from the can for 30 mins. excellent. could double the fruit content too to further disguise the beets but was yummy 1 can to 1 fresh fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I make this quite often - an easy, delicious and colorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
This is great! The beets I used were only in water and salt, so I added some extra cornstarch and sugar. I also added a couple of dashes of red wine garlic vinegar. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
This was a tasty and innovative way to cook beets. I'm not generally a beet person, but I'm glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States