Beets with Onion and Cumin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I haven't had beets for years, but these were delicious! Cumin is one of my favorite spices, so I'm willing to try just about any recipe that calls for it. This was a good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I have made this several times now and like it more each time. The flavor and sauce are a nice departure from plain boiled beets. I didn't care for the tomatoes the first time so I just leave it out now and don't miss it. Thank you for a great recipe to use up all beets from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
was a nice blend of flavors that weren't over powering. good when chilled and sliced over salad or eaten alone as an appitizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaniAtoBaka
Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I don't dislike beets, but I think they're boring. My husband likes beets. I used all these ingredients, and they didn't change the taste of the dish at all. Still tasted like beets and nothing else. No onion, garlic, cumin, or tomato taste - all wasted. We added sugar, and that helped slightly. I'll never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My kids love beets - but they wouldn't eat this! Four stars because it is tasty, but the other ingredients don't complement the beets. Instead, they cover up the beet flavor. So, try this if you really can't stand beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I left out the oil, and just used vegetable spray. I started by sauteing the onion, garlic and chopped beet, then added the cumin seeds and flour. Finally, I added in the water and tomatoes. When this was just about done, I added in the chopped beet greens, which I cooked until they began to wilt. This has great taste! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Good taste but it comes out soupy. Needs more flour, perhaps, and definitely some ground pepper. Then, not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very good, my 16 month old loved it! I did not add the flour, but did add Kale, when I added the beets, tomatoes, water and salt, which was a good addition. Great and very tasty way to make beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Loved this recipe. I am a big fan of beets: they taste great and are high in vitamins and minerals. I didn't bother skinning or de-seeding the tomatoes and it turned out great. The tomatoes just dissolved into the dish. I toasted the cumin seeds before cooking and I think that added to the flavor. I just thought this dish tasted great. I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
We love beets and this is a great recipe for everyone, even my 8 year old eats it. The only thing I do different is I do not put the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States