Beets with Onion and Cumin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Absolutely delicious. I will definitely add this to my list of favorite recipes. My boyfriend and I loved it! We served it with basmati rice which soaked up the flavorful sauce. Next time I will cut the beets into smaller, bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This has become our favorite beet recipe. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Was looking for something different to do with beetroot. This dish was very good, my husband loved it. We both love cumin and garlic and found these to go very well with the beetroot. I changed the method slightly by precooking the beets and making the "sauce" seperately. I then added the beets to the sauce. Went very well with grilled pork chops. Have to note though that all ingredients were freshly picked from our veggie garden and pork produced on our farm - all natural stuff!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VivM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Staffordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I love beets but had never actually cooked them. This recipe was easy and the end result was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
We have never cooked with beets before and this recipe was a great introduction to the vegetable. All I did to the tomatoes was quarter thema and slice them up(no peeling or removing seeds. Also, I didn't have cumin seeds, I used ground cumin seeds and it worked just fine. We had it with pork chops and it was so good that we ate the beets with bites of pork chops. The meat was too boring without it. Thanks for the great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I don't normally bother with reviews but thought that this recipe was good enough to take the time to rate it. I'm not fussy about beets but had a few "thrown in" for free at the vegetable market. I tried this recipe and next week I'm going to buy beets! I'm converted. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Karen - this is a real winner - Beets have always been ugh food in our house. Everyone loved this one. Only change was that we used olive oil. There were NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
These are SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This recipe is excellent! I did tweak it a little, but essentially stayed true to the recipe. I boiled the beets whole ahead of time, then peeled them and diced them. When adding them to the rest of the ingredients it wasn't necessary to use as much water, maybe a half cup or so. (I am not much of a measurer!) I also toasted the cumin seeds in a dry skillet then ground them instead of using them whole. I used a can of diced tomatoes as I didn't have any fresh on hand, and it worked perfectly. I am excited to try the diced tomatoes that are canned with garlic or chiles or onions or whatever they have in them. These changes were just for convenience and personal preference. The recipe as listed sounded great. I just rarely cook anything exactly as the recipe calls for. Enjoy this dish as a side with any meal that needs a flavorful accompaniment. We ate it with Spanish Rice as another user suggested and it ROCKED!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Didn't have the ingredients for my normal beet dish, but panic ended on discovering I had the ingredients for this. Was skeptical about it, but the adults LOVED it. No leftovers! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States