Beets and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I had never had beet greens before and I loved them in this recipe! I used red onion and it looked so nice I will serve it to guests. Tastes like strong spinach. I am thinking of all of the beet greens I have waisted before......and all of the nutrients that went right in the trash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Let me say, WONDERFUL! I bought three large organic beets. I added 3 scallions, 1/2 med. onion, 5 cloves of garlic chopped, all the greens, and followed the recipe with a little more organic olive oil added. It was a great dish! I will serve this again, definately a favorite. Watch out to be red handed when you take off the skins. Even the baked stems were tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I really love beets but had never eaten the greens before. This recipe was delicious! I also added finely chopped cabbage after the onions were carmelized and a little bit of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This warm beet with greens and carmelized onions was flavorful and a nice change. Great recipe. Next time, I will only wilt the greens and discard the stems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I love how simple this recipe is. I was skeptical about the greens, but they are suprisingly tasty. The whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
My two favorite ways to describe dinner: cheap & easy! This was awesome! I didn't want to wait so long so I peeled & diced the beets then roasted them. I tossed in a few diced carrots and radishes too. The combination is great. Next time I think I'll add some whole garlic cloves too. Love it! You have to try beet greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Wow delicious! I had never made beets before and when I received them in my food pod I tried this recipe first-simple, easy and YUM! Even my husband who does not eat anything green ate this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I had beets in the garden I wanted to use and found this recipe. I really wanted to like this but just didn't. Maybe it's just me because I have never eaten beets before except for pickled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Very easy and tasty! I added some garlic and a touch of cider vinegar at the end! I will definitely make this one again! For those of you who complained that the beets were hard to peel here's a little trick. When the beets are done roasting in the oven wrap them in aluminum foil to let them cool. The foil holds in just the right amount of steam. When you open them up put on some rubber gloves and just rub the skin off right over the trashcan. I also leave the gloves on when slicing them up. Keeps your hands from staining red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Brogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Wanted to try something different. First time cooking with beets (which I hated as child!) This was a really good recipe, most people liked the greens better than the beets! The only thing I changed was I added some spinach leaves because there weren't enough beet leaves in my bunches to me. I also added a couple of splashes of balsamic after the greens were done to try and bring out the sweetness of the beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States