Beets and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Enjoyed this so much. Several steps and can't make it in a rush, but no matter, it was sooo good. I used gloves to cut and peel after cooled. Thanks for that tip! A keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I didn't want to wait for them to cool off so I peeled them and cut into wedges before roasting. My teenage daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I thought I hated beets but I was completely wrong. I, too, peeled the beets beforehand and roasted them sans peel. I also added some feta cheese while they were roasting (and a touch after they came out.) I sauteed the greens with some onions, put it all together, and lo and behold - I'm a beet lover. I would say my face is red from embarrassment, but it's more than likely beet juice. My husband's already requested that this be put on regular summer dinner rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Love this recipe! Serve with feta cheese on the side....mmmmm, mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Very easy and tasty! I added some garlic and a touch of cider vinegar at the end! I will definitely make this one again! For those of you who complained that the beets were hard to peel here's a little trick. When the beets are done roasting in the oven wrap them in aluminum foil to let them cool. The foil holds in just the right amount of steam. When you open them up put on some rubber gloves and just rub the skin off right over the trashcan. I also leave the gloves on when slicing them up. Keeps your hands from staining red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Brogan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I loved its simplicity and flavor! I served it as a side dish for the rest of the family, and ate it as a main dish and added crumbled goat cheese to the top of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I had only eaten pickled beats, but I got beats in my bountiful basket so i went searching for a recipe. This one is simple, easy, and tasty! The greens were lovely and the roasted beats were wonderful. We will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
While I do like the simplicity as well as the result, I must say that my beets took waaaay longer to cook. After 90 mins in the oven, they were still not easily pierced by a fork - but they were still very good, nonetheless. Plan your time accordingly. Finishing them up in the oven early won't hurt... but if yours take as long as mine, it could delay your dinner plans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Followed the recipe and the beets came out PERFECT! Absolutley love the greens mixed in, too - made the dish 5+ stars in my mind. Super easy to cook. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I have tried SO MANY ways to eat beets and this was the recipe that won my affection to beets. It is incredible! Now I want to grow beets in my garden just so I can eat them more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Cavender

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Roasted Beets with Goat Cheese & Walnuts

This simple salad will turn beet skeptics into full-on beet lovers.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States