Beet, Walnut and Prune Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by posh
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I'm Russian myself and we've been making this salad as long as I can remember! Never used prunes though, just boiled beets, walnuts, garlic and mayo. Make sure you chop walnuts coarsely for the best taste! And one more thing : I think you don't need extra salt with all this mayo in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
If you love beets you'll love this little salad. I made it the first time just to get rid of some fresh beets that I had and didn't want to lose. Now I buy beets just to make this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Maine, USA
Living In: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Made this yesterday. Wonderful. Authentic Russian salad does not use prunes so omitted them. However, try adding pomegrante seeds to salad. Superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is one of my favorite salads. Mayo tastes excellent with beets and prunes. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
DELICIOUS. I included some sliced Vidalia onion, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. DEFINITELY in my luncheon rotation; I'll be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Seemed like kind of a strange recipe, but it turned out great! Very easy to make too. Only thing was the garlic seemed a little much--will cut back on the garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Truly Wonderful! Even though I over-processed it in the food processor, it was tasty and crunchy and garlicky and everything that was quoted about it! I used almonds instead of walnuts because they're better for you, and I would use either plain yogurt or light mayo to help alleviate the "fatty" texture. REALLY GOOD! You'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Loved it. Have made it several times since. Unusual combination that goes together wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Not bad. I omitted the prunes because other reviewers said that was the more authentic route. It tasted like...beets. Nice combination, and quite easy. It was my first time using beets, & peeling & grating them was very easy. This is a vibrantly colored dish, which could be very suitable for entertainment purposes. My mom liked it; Dad didn't. I used 3 beets, 2 garlice cloves, and 1/3 cup of the walnuts and 1/3 cup mayonnaise. Nice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I am Russian and my family have been making this salad since ever i can remember myself. Our recipe was same minus prunes. Forgot how good this is! Very healthy too ... i use light mayo and no additional salt! YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States