Beet, Walnut and Prune Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by posh
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I'm Russian myself and we've been making this salad as long as I can remember! Never used prunes though, just boiled beets, walnuts, garlic and mayo. Make sure you chop walnuts coarsely for the best taste! And one more thing : I think you don't need extra salt with all this mayo in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
If you love beets you'll love this little salad. I made it the first time just to get rid of some fresh beets that I had and didn't want to lose. Now I buy beets just to make this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Maine, USA
Living In: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Made this yesterday. Wonderful. Authentic Russian salad does not use prunes so omitted them. However, try adding pomegrante seeds to salad. Superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is one of my favorite salads. Mayo tastes excellent with beets and prunes. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
DELICIOUS. I included some sliced Vidalia onion, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. DEFINITELY in my luncheon rotation; I'll be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Seemed like kind of a strange recipe, but it turned out great! Very easy to make too. Only thing was the garlic seemed a little much--will cut back on the garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Truly Wonderful! Even though I over-processed it in the food processor, it was tasty and crunchy and garlicky and everything that was quoted about it! I used almonds instead of walnuts because they're better for you, and I would use either plain yogurt or light mayo to help alleviate the "fatty" texture. REALLY GOOD! You'll enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Loved it. Have made it several times since. Unusual combination that goes together wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Not bad. I omitted the prunes because other reviewers said that was the more authentic route. It tasted like...beets. Nice combination, and quite easy. It was my first time using beets, & peeling & grating them was very easy. This is a vibrantly colored dish, which could be very suitable for entertainment purposes. My mom liked it; Dad didn't. I used 3 beets, 2 garlice cloves, and 1/3 cup of the walnuts and 1/3 cup mayonnaise. Nice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I am Russian and my family have been making this salad since ever i can remember myself. Our recipe was same minus prunes. Forgot how good this is! Very healthy too ... i use light mayo and no additional salt! YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States