Beet, Walnut and Prune Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I am Russian and my family have been making this salad since ever i can remember myself. Our recipe was same minus prunes. Forgot how good this is! Very healthy too ... i use light mayo and no additional salt! YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I'm an American living in Russia, and folks serve this to me often (without the prunes). However, I had to use another clove of garlic to match the taste of the salad that I often eat in Russian homes. Russians seem to like intense flavors of the food itself (rather than spices) so I'm not surprised they like it more garlicky than Americans may prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Maurer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
So delicious! I didn't have prunes, so I used raisins instead and I toasted the walnuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
People who like beets will like this recipe. I brought it to a Russian pot luck dinner and some people asked for the recipe and said it was great. I liked it myself! Colorful and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This was not my favorite salad. Perhaps because I omitted the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by princess
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I used low cal mayo; Not bad, but I am not sure about mixing prunes(because of their sweetness) and raw garlic. Next time will try with garlic or prunes only..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Not bad. I omitted the prunes because other reviewers said that was the more authentic route. It tasted like...beets. Nice combination, and quite easy. It was my first time using beets, & peeling & grating them was very easy. This is a vibrantly colored dish, which could be very suitable for entertainment purposes. My mom liked it; Dad didn't. I used 3 beets, 2 garlice cloves, and 1/3 cup of the walnuts and 1/3 cup mayonnaise. Nice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Loved it. Have made it several times since. Unusual combination that goes together wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
We like beets, so I was excited to try this interesting salad. However, the final results were downright off-putting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Interesting combination of ingredients! This is a tasty salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States