Beet Surprise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This cake turned out super good. It looks and tastes much like a red velvet cake and no one noticed the addition of beets. I didn't use the frosting for this recipe we decided to frost with an Almond Joy canned frosting we had in the pantry. Thanks for a great way to sneak some veggies in my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I wanted to try this recipe because the three of us Love beets! I made this knowing that it would be good just by the smell of it baking in the oven! Waiting for my husband's review with anticipation, but sadly he said it was very dry! I told him that most of the review's said very moist so I reviewed the recipe and found my mistake I used 1 1/2 sicks of butter not 1 1/2 cups! Oh well it will give me an excuse to try again even thought disappointed in myself still tasted good and I used peanut butter frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Maine, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very delicous! My husband and I don't usually like cakes made from scratch because they usually seem dry, but this was fabulous! I will definitely make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
What could I replace the cocoa with? Any suggestion? I used 100% pure cocoa unsweetened (Van Houten) and everybody loved the cake, that's not the problem. The problem is that cocoa makes it resemble a chocolate cake -while it is not- and I cannot help but compare the taste. So I thought: if I find what to replace the cocoa with, I'll be fine. Otherwise, it's very moist and digestible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirtus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannen
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This was great! This has quickly turned into a family favorite and my daughter thinks now the only thing beets are good for is this cake! With our CSA, we get beets, so I had to find something to do with them, and hubby could not guess what "surprise" I had in the cake. Even after I told him, he couldn't taste it... he just thought I made chocolate cake! The frosting turned out fine, but the cake broke up in the frosting when I spread it on. I frosted it a day later, so maybe that's why, but it tasted all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I did the following changes: - 3 eggs instead of 4 (to minimize cholesterol) - 3/4 cup margarine instead of 11/2 of butter because I couldn't bear putting in that much fat - No honey - 11/4 cup sugar instead of 2 cups as I prefer desserts not to be too sweet I served with a cream cheese frosting and raspberry sauce. It was a little dry (probably because of my alterations) but my guests still loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I have baked chocolate beet cakes for years. People think it might be zuchinni but are not sure. This cake freezes beautifully and you have to let the cake rest so all the flavours can blend. I have served it for years and when the cake is gone, I tell my guests there were beets in it -= to their amazement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Note for chefs like me who must cook for beet haters: If your picky eaters know there are beets in the cake and eat the plain cake, they will be able to taste the beets. However, if they don't know there are beets in the recipe and with the frosting they will not be able to tell. The texture of the cake is lovely. I didn't have powdered sugar so didn't make the frosting and instead had my eaters frost their own cupcakes with the store bought cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Was looking for a way to use the beets in my garden and this sounded like a good way to sneak it past my anti-beet husband and son. They both liked the cupcakes, but others thought they were so-so (nobody knew about the beets). Frosting was runny, even after adding and extra cup of powdered sugar; would use a regular cream cheese frosting recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This was delicious! No one even noticed the beets. I actually turned them into cupcakes for my kids and their friends and everyone loved them. I used hard white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and the cupcakes still turned out wonderfully moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States