Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
fantastic and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Delicious! One of the best soup recipes I've ever made. I made the recipe with chicken broth instead of beef stock, and it made the soup a bit lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
We had some beets in our produce co-op that we didn't know what to do with. This recipe was great! We didn't have enough beets so we added some potatoes too. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I made this in my VitaMix in about 7 minutes. I micro'd the stock and then blended on high with the raw beets. I sauteed the rest and added to the mixture. It was yummy!! Even my 7 year old vegetable hating daughter had several spoonfulls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very Good. Fortunately, I found this recipe a week after pulling the last of the beets in my garden. Fortunate because I only had a can of beets, but I wanted to try this. So I cheated and used the canned beets. I sauteed the onion and garlic while processing the beets (helps to have plenty of liquid in the processor bowl). I poured most of the blend out, added the onion/garlic to processor bowl and liquified. Mixed with the beets and simmered. I can't believe fresh beets would be better, but I would certainly use them if I had them. After making this a couple of times I was ready to experiment. Add 3/4 cup of sugar (I use Splenda) and 1/2 cup white venegar and you get Harvard beet soup. I really like it that way. Many thanks, DeelightUK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is something I could eat every day. I used my homemade chicken broth because that is what I had on hand and no cream to cut calories. It was great without it. My son ate it two days in a row with seconds. He said it tastes like 'Thanksgiving'. added later: I've made this a few times now and find that it tastes better with chicken broth than beef. Also, I simmer it for an hour so the beets are soft. I try to use small beets. A final add: I don't recommend adding potatoes as some reviewers here mention. I've tried it when I was short on beets and thought it dulled the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was wonderful! I used canned beats, and onion powder so the cooking went much faster. I also added a little goat cheese instead of cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancy Pants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
excellent soup and very quick to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was really good. The texture was somewhat grainy like others mentioned, but it didn't bother me. I cut up the beet in really small pieces and it took about 25 minutes to cook. Then I blended everything into a puree. A very healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I used some greek yogurt for part of the dairy and added some lemon juice. Both were good additions we thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States