Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rebecca M
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
The soup came out a delicious colour and texture (although as other users mentioned, it DOES take about 40-45min to cook the beets through). Since I had some other vegetables to use up, I added one carrot and two sticks of celery (all grated) to the beets as they were boiling, then blended it all together. You'll need to serve this soup with something else (ie, crusty bread), as it's not quite filling enough on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Delicious! One of the best soup recipes I've ever made. I made the recipe with chicken broth instead of beef stock, and it made the soup a bit lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
We had some beets in our produce co-op that we didn't know what to do with. This recipe was great! We didn't have enough beets so we added some potatoes too. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
After cooking for 30 minutes, the broth had great flavor. Then I blended the soup and it had the consistency of thick grainy pudding. It would have been great if I had not put it in the food processor. What a waste of beets. I even added some more beef stock to try to smooth things out and it was still grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I made this in my VitaMix in about 7 minutes. I micro'd the stock and then blended on high with the raw beets. I sauteed the rest and added to the mixture. It was yummy!! Even my 7 year old vegetable hating daughter had several spoonfulls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I just discovered a new love for beets! I sliced the beets thin, which allowed the cooking time to stay closer to the approximated 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Great option for beets in a healthy dish. But make sure your beets are fully cooked otherwise you will get a grainy/lumpy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Piracicaba, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This soup was decent. I made it exactly as stated but I also added a shallot to the onions and garlic. It needed at least 45 mins for the simmering. I saved time by pureeing the soup with my hand-held cuisinart mixer. It left it somewhat chunky. Oh, this also makes nowhere near the serving amount listed (4). I'm a light eater and its perfect for me: one bowl tonight, and one left over for work tomorrow. If this was a for a main course or a hearty eater, this recipe would easily be a single serving, and not the four listed. That said I will probably make this again, because beets are really good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was easy but not exactly quick - the beets took longer than I'd expected. Oh and I don't have a blender so I couldn't puree the soup, but it was still pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
fantastic and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States