Beet Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is something I could eat every day. I used my homemade chicken broth because that is what I had on hand and no cream to cut calories. It was great without it. My son ate it two days in a row with seconds. He said it tastes like 'Thanksgiving'. added later: I've made this a few times now and find that it tastes better with chicken broth than beef. Also, I simmer it for an hour so the beets are soft. I try to use small beets. A final add: I don't recommend adding potatoes as some reviewers here mention. I've tried it when I was short on beets and thought it dulled the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Definately healthy and edible but not 'wow'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GwynR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Pretty good- not very interesting consistency- better as an appetizer than as an entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Well...we started a veggie smoothie with lots of beets, greens, and celery that didn't turn out (blech!). In desparation, I went to allrecipes.com and found this recipe. I used vegetable broth rather than beef and a huge dollop of homemade yogurt in place of the heavy cream. YUMMMY and saved what would have been chicken food! Thanks for a great suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I've never had beet soup before but both my husband and I really enjoyed this. Like another reviewer I used chicken stock since that's what I had on hand, plus added a bit of chopped sausage and topped it with sour cream. This soup was very flavorful for the few ingredients is has.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Great option for beets in a healthy dish. But make sure your beets are fully cooked otherwise you will get a grainy/lumpy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Piracicaba, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was wonderful! I used canned beats, and onion powder so the cooking went much faster. I also added a little goat cheese instead of cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancy Pants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very Good. Fortunately, I found this recipe a week after pulling the last of the beets in my garden. Fortunate because I only had a can of beets, but I wanted to try this. So I cheated and used the canned beets. I sauteed the onion and garlic while processing the beets (helps to have plenty of liquid in the processor bowl). I poured most of the blend out, added the onion/garlic to processor bowl and liquified. Mixed with the beets and simmered. I can't believe fresh beets would be better, but I would certainly use them if I had them. After making this a couple of times I was ready to experiment. Add 3/4 cup of sugar (I use Splenda) and 1/2 cup white venegar and you get Harvard beet soup. I really like it that way. Many thanks, DeelightUK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I just discovered a new love for beets! I sliced the beets thin, which allowed the cooking time to stay closer to the approximated 20-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was really good. The texture was somewhat grainy like others mentioned, but it didn't bother me. I cut up the beet in really small pieces and it took about 25 minutes to cook. Then I blended everything into a puree. A very healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States